Banana Blueberry Raspberry and Pecan Bread (low fat)

February 25, 2010 at 7:00 pm | Posted in baking, Breads, dessert, Desserts, Flexitarian, Food, photography, Recipes | 10 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Quick post to share a wonderful recipe I found online.   With only 3 Tbsp of oil in 2 loaves, I thought for sure this would be too dry, but it wasn’t!  I did add an extra banana that I had frozen.  I only had a cup of blueberries, so I threw in a cup of raspberries.  I forgot to add the pecans to the batter, so I spread them over the top and pushed them down a little.

They baked much faster than the time in this recipe, so check them super early

Delicious!  Lowfat!  YUM!

CLICK HERE FOR THE ORIGINAL RECIPE

Keep in mind I made several changes and you can find them

behind the cut, so click below to see mine…

Changes I made to the recipe are as follows:

  • 2 1/2 cups flour– I used half whole wheat pastry flour and half all-purpose
  • 1/2 cup sugar– I used organic sucanat
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoonbaking powder plus
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon– I used 1/4 tsp heaped
  • 1/4 cup coconut– I used unsweetened
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup milk- I used a little more milk due to the ww pastry flour
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoonsvanilla
  • 3 medium mashed bananas– I used 3 fresh ripe + an extra frozen banana
  • 1 cup chopped  pecans
  • 2 cups  frozen blueberries- I used 1 cup frozen blueberries and 1 cup frozen raspberries

ENJOY!!!

Think Spring!
It will be here sooner than we think, and I’m planning on baking a 3D lamb cake for Easter :)

10 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. A few days ago, one of my daughters made a delicious banana cake – I can’t wait to show her this fantastic recipe – Thanks for sharing!
    ~ Diana ~

    • Oh, Diana banana cake is a favorite of mine! How wonderful that your daughter enjoys baking. Let me know if you or your daughter try this one– we love it!
      Thank you for dropping by :)

  2. This bread is so…pretty! I want to try it and see if it tastes pretty too ;p I haven’t made very many fruit bread type things, but does this taste like a bread, or something like a muffin? Either way, I’m sure it’s delicious.

    • Oh, I think it tastes mighty perty! I would say it’s more like a muffin–banana bread.
      Thanks for dropping by Angelnina’s cottage!

  3. Nearly went this route the other night, ended up going with strawberries and toasted pecans. I was wondering how the blueberries and raspberries would work, now I’ll have to try this recipe out!

    • Wow, strawberries and toasted pecans sound amazing in a banana bread! Thanks for dropping by :)

  4. I think the raspberries are a great addition both in color and in taste. This looks like one wonderful bread and I hope to make it soon.

    • Thank you!
      If you do, let me know how you like it.

  5. I made this the other day and it was delicious. It was so good that I had to leave the house because I couldn’t stop eating it. Great Recipe!

    • Thank you! I’m the same way, and we don’t have to feel guilty for this one ;)
      Thank you for dropping by and commenting.


Leave a Reply

  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
    Entries and comments feeds.

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 345 other followers

