Spanakopita and Gardening in April/May

May 2, 2010 at 6:48 pm | Posted in baking, cooking, Flexitarian, Food, gardening, photography, Recipes, Vegetarian | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Spanakopita or Spinach Pie

PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE

Adapted from a recipe posted online–years ago–by Jack Roemer

14 Phyllo Pastry sheets

2 cloves garlic, crushed

4 Tbsp olive oil + 4 Tbsp melted butter

spray olive oil

40 ounces frozen spinach, chopped  OR 2 – 16oz pack

1/2 cup chopped fresh Italian(flat leaf) parsley

1/4 cup chopped sweet onion

3  Tbsp fresh chopped dill

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 cup cottage cheese –I use lowfat

1 egg

6 ounces feta cheese, crumbled

a light sprinkling of white wine vinegar- approx 2 tsp

Instructions:

Thaw and drain the 2- 16oz packages of spinach.

Crush the garlic and drop into the olive oil and butter. Set aside.

To make the filling, squeeze the spinach between your hands to remove most of
the liquid.   Place in a bowl or in a food processor.   Add the parsley, onions,
dill, nutmeg, salt and pepper. Stir in the cottage cheese, egg and
feta.  –NOTE- I do it all in the processor except for the feta. — Combine well. Lightly coat a 9 x 13 inch baking dish with nonstick cooking spray.

Lay one sheet of phyllo in the bottom of the dish and drape the edges overthe
sides of the dish. Spray lightly with cooking spray and cover with another sheet of phyllo dough.   Brush that sheet with the garlic-olive oil mixture.

Layer a total of four sheets, coating each alternately with nonstick cooking spray and olive oil. Spread half the filling over the prepared phyllo dough. Lay another sheet of dough over the filling and coat lightly with cooking spray.   Lay down another sheet and lightly coat with olive oil mixture. Continue alternating spray and olive oil for a total of four
sheets. Layer remaining spinach filling on dough.  Sprinkle on the vinegar-as evenly as possible.

Continue layering phyllo dough over the filling, spraying the first sheet and alternately brushing with olive oil and spraying subsequent sheets.  The last layer has 6 sheets.

When finished, brush the surface with olive oil mixture and roll the edges of the doughin ward to create an attractive rim around the outside.  Score the surface with a sharp knife into 12 portions.

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Bake for 40 minutes until golden.  I turn on the broiler at this point for 1-2 minutes (keep pan in center of oven) WATCH IT,  or you will burn the top layer!  Allow to cool 10 minutes before serving.  Makes 12 portions.

Test kitchen notes: Phyllo means “leaf” in Greek. The dough is usually available in the frozen food section of most supermarkets or in Greek or Middle Eastern markets. For best results, allow dough to defrost overnight in the refrigerator.   Keep it covered with wax paper and a damp towel while making pie.

The Gardens in April and Early May

I’ve decided to post my gardens once a month.  I want to document the stages of growth.

This is the time of year I start to get excited about gardening.   I love my flowers, but I especially love the vegetable and herb gardens.

That said, I planted an assortment of flowers from seed this year.  I rarely do this, but my cousin , MaryAnne, who lives in upstate New York, sent me seeds from her own flower gardens and a packet of Honey Bear Sunflower seeds, which means I might have a new passion.  I’ll post on those as soon as the seeds germinate.

The terracotta pot above is my husband’s great find.  It is from Mexico, and I thought a few coral colored begonias,  double pink impatiens, along with a few chicks from my Hens and Chicks plants, would look lovely in this pot.

The portable greenhouse is filled with starts and seedlings:

Tomatoes, cucumbers, pumpkins, artichoke, basil,  and squash are waiting to go under the cloche of the front gardens.

Flowering seeds are in their little seed pots too.

As you can see, the backyard garden has plenty of cool weather plants:

lettuce, radish, beets, onions, spicy mixed lettuces, carrots, broccoli,  and several herbs.

Due to my health issues, the flower beds have suffered most.  They need some serious weeding and pruning, but look at that lavender!

I’ll be posting the front gardens in my next post.

I was fascinated by this lone yellow tulip.  I don’t know if it was mistakenly relocated or if I had never noticed how beautiful it looks up against the purple color flowers.

Next year, I’d like to have a spring bulb garden.

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i love getting your blog on my email! now i won’t miss anything. looks great, love your ladder.
    and that spanikopita (sp?) looks just luscious.

    • Thanks Mare! I have a thing for ladders and park benches. I like to paint them pink or lavender and make them blend with the flowers. I’m keeping my eye on those Honey Bears you sent me :) Thanks again!

  2. Everything looks so beautifully delicious – the food and the garden.
    Lillian

    • Thanks Lillian! I like your new avatar.

  3. I love your blog! Your recipes always sound delicious and I love seeing pics of your garden. What is the purple flowering ground cover? I’ve seen it around here, but never knew what it was. Thanks!

    • Thank you Dia!
      I’m not sure what it is called. I wish I knew half of the names of the ground covers that were planted here before I moved in. The former owner had beautiful taste.
      I’ll try to find out!

  4. I love all the beautiful pictures of your garden. I hope to see it soon.

    I would love to try the spanikopita I need to get some cheese first. Thank you for the recipe! :)

    • We had hail this morning and I thought I was going to lose some of my starts, but all is well. The spanakopita is the same you had at my house a year ago–it’s my favorite.

  5. I stumbled across your blog today and am enjoying your posts. I’ve bookmarked the site so that I can return. I am going to give a go at making spanikopita. It’s a dish I love, but have never tried making it myself. Do you have Twitter or Facebook?

    Thanks so much,
    Maggie


Leave a Reply

  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
    Entries and comments feeds.

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 344 other followers

