Farfalle with Mushrooms and Sausages

May 6, 2010 at 8:24 pm | Posted in cooking, Flexitarian, Food, Italian food, Pasta Dishes, photography, Recipes, Weeknight Dinners | 17 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Have you seen this beautiful Farfalle pasta by Torino?  I was shopping at World Market’s Cost Plus, when this jumped out at me!  Look at the beautiful colors.

It cost more than what I like to spend on pasta, but I couldn’t pass this up.  They call it “designer” pasta.  I’m not into designer fashion, but apparently I’m a sucker for designer pastas now.

The recipe on the back of the box made my final decision.   It’s SO simple to make and it tastes so fresh and earthy!

Farfalle with Mushrooms and Sausages

Adapted from Torino pasta recipe

8.8 ounce farfalle pasta

6 ounce mushrooms (possibly porcini or 2 ounce dry porcini put in water to soften for 2-3 hours)- I used a package of wild Italian mushrooms I found at World Market

6 oz fresh sweet sausage-I used Italian sausage from Whole Foods

5 oz white wine

1/4 white onion

1/2 clove garlic- I used whole

1 oz extra virgin olive oil

2 oz light cream — I used whole milk

3 oz grated pecorino or parmesan cheese- I used both

pepper and salt to taste

In a skillet, sautee x-tra virgin olive oil with garlic and onion–finely chopped.  Add the sausage without skin, and cook for 5 minutes to color.  Add the mushrooms and cook slowly and add the white wine.   When it looks ready, add the salt and pepper and light cream.

Cook the pasta al dente in plenty of salted water.  Drain pasta and place in the sauce skillet mix on top of stove for 2 minutes and then serve with cheese.




The mushrooms are SO earthy!

I served it with chardonnay

ENJOY!

Simple enough for a weeknight meal, and flavorful enough to impress company.

17 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very cool! Do you know what what the colors are made from or is it food coloring?
    cin

    • Cindy– Excellent question! I should have added this information.
      These are all natural–no food coloring :) 100% durum wheat pasta
      Red is red bell pepper and/or tomato
      Green is spinach
      Violet is red beet
      Yellow is curcuma

  2. Umm…WOW! That’s the cutest thing that’s ever made my mouth water. My kids would love it, they’re very into rainbows at the moment!! Wheels turning … I’m thinking theme dinner very soon! :)

    • Oh, Shari, I think this will be great for kids! Just add butter and parmesan–mmmm.

  3. That pasta is amazing. We don’t have a World Market in the area any more or I would run right out and get some. Also love the garlic holder.
    Lillian

    • Lillian, maybe they are at other markets as well. Thank you, I’m not sure if my pottery woman is Mexican or Portugal pottery, but I do enjoy her :)

  4. Whoa! Those are dreamy looking. Can’t wait to run up there, they always have surprising items don’t they?

    • They really do have great items. Their spices are a great bargain, and they sell my favorite black tea–Typhoo. It’s one of my favorite shops.

  5. That is some great way to get your veggies from pasta! :)

  6. Surprise !!

    That pasta is beautiful and the recipe sounds yummy. I’ve will also say that I have never seen pasta like that.

    Hope all is well your way.

    El
    (Snickerdoodle from MySpace)

    • Thanks lady! Things are getting better–working on the health issues :) thanks!

  7. I never seen such a colorful pasta the recipe sounds delicious!!!

    • It really is..the colors are the bonus :)

  8. What a beautiful meal, I would spend extra for such lovely pasta too.Kell

    • Hi Kelly, Since posting, I’ve found many more stores that carry the mixed vegetable colored pastas–fun food!

  9. Wow, that looks yummy and so colorful!


Leave a Reply

  • Proud member of FoodBlogs
  • Get a free blog at WordPress.com | Theme: Pool by Borja Fernandez.
    Entries and comments feeds.

    Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 346 other followers

