It’s a Chick Thing

Chick

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Three and a half years ago, my husband, Mark and I bought our first house.  It’s a modest ranch style home built in the late 1970s.  Our dream home?   No, not really.  Our dream home would be ten miles from the nearest neighbor, sit on 50 acres+, include a wooded area, a pond or stream–complete with tire swinging on a rope, and lots wide open space to roam, an orchard, several gardens, and lots of farm animals.  We might be able to survive off the land, but here in the real world, we need a real job to pay for the land we are surviving off of.  Commuting to the city requires time and money.  Neither of which we have, in abundance, at the moment.

Slowly, over time, in the past three years, I’ve added a little bit of country to our lot.  Our place gives the feeling of seclusion, but in reality we have neighbors on three sides.  Our third of an acre sized lot is something I are grateful for. I’m not complaining.

I started with a raised vegetable garden, followed by barrels of herbs, bees balm, a fountain (gives the feel of a pond with waterfall), and some raspberry canes.  Yes, the raspberries need help.  I didn’t realize the original owners had plastic down under the bark on the entire front area of the drive, which means, my raspberries aren’t producing very well.  I’ve decided to build a raised bed for them this year.  I will also be building another raised vegetable garden alongside them.  Soon, I will cut the front lawn out and create a large L-shaped raised bed. I don’t understand the point in keeping a perfectly manicured lawn, versus creating a yard that gives back to you.

On a limited income, I have no choice but to build slowly.  My costs will the wood for the raised beds, seeds, starters, soil, and manure.

Throughout the past three years, one idea has played on my mind–backyard laying chickens.  If I can create my own fertilizer and grow my own eggs, I’ll have two expenses taken care of.  I may only break even after feeding my chickens, but truth be know, I’m a chicken lady at heart.  I raised chickens when I was in late elementary school.  We kept some for their eggs and the remaining chickens were for eating.  I remember running inside the house when it was time for dad to kill the chickens.  One time I watched through the kitchen window as he grabbed two chickens at the same time.  Holding them by their heads, with his arms outstretched at either side he gave a quick jerk in a swinging motion and snapped their necks.  I was horrified and swore I’d never eat those chickens.  We were poor–needless to say, I ate those chickens, and they were damn good.

I won’t be eating my hens. Mine are pets and will give fertilizer and eggs.  I chose hens that are great layers.  All of their eggs will be brown.  I love brown eggs.  There is something “earthy” about eating a fresh brown egg.

 

chcik2

Photobucket

Photobucket

8 thoughts on “It’s a Chick Thing

  1. We still need to build a coop for them. We have about 6 weeks until they’re ready to be outside. We opted to build a chicken tractor and move it around the yard. It will be interesting to have the new experience. I’ll be blogging all the way. Thanks for dropping by!

  2. Awww, so cute! I would love, love, love to have some hens. I buy organic cage free eggs and they are pricey. I think the cost of raising the hens would be outweighed by my savings, in the long run. Plus, fertilizer. 😉

  3. I’m starting to realize they may be saving me money in the long run. They are really quite easy to take care of too.
    I was so excited to see your name! Thanks for checking us out and commenting.
    Keep me updated on life. Hugs,
    Anita

  4. Those chicks are adorable! Aren’t little chicks just so sweet? I always loved my chickens.. Almost talked my land lord into letting me build a chicken tractor type mobile coop for the back garden at my apartment, a summer or two ago.. hehemm, the conversation came about when he came across my chicks I was raising in a box in my kirkland apartment.
    You can take a country girl away from the farm, but ya can’t take the country out of the girl. 🙂 Your gonna love those chickens!

  5. Those chicks are adorable. The chick in the picture looks like she is wearing makeup. I know you will have many many eggs in the next few months.

  6. I love her “eyeliner”. She seems to be the shy one. She didn’t like me holding her today. The tiniest black hen, “Little Edie” seems to love me best. They lay between four and five months old. I hope.

Leave a Reply

