Banana Muffins ~ Spring is in the Air

Banana nut Muffin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can’t think of anything better than a fresh banana muffin on a spring morning.   Toss in some chopped pecans for protein and crunch and a few chocolate chips for medicinal reasons and you have a great start to your morning.  Of course, I have been known to use them for a great start to my afternoon, early evening, late evening, and midnight snacking time.

muffin

“Somewhat Lighter” Banana Nut Muffins

½ cup butter  (I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup Light Smart Balance)

3/4 cup brown sugar (or 1 cup white) 

2 large eggs

2 large very ripe bananas, mashed 

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup lowfat buttermilk (or add 1 tbsp. vinegar to regular milk = buttermilk)

 

1/2 cup chopped pecans

2 cups flour

1 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

 

Preheat oven to 350°.  Beat together butter and sugar at medium speed until light & fluffy.  Add egg, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in bananas until smooth.  Mix together flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda.  Alternately stir flour mixture and buttermilk into egg mixture until dry mixture is just moistened.  Stir in nuts and vanilla.  Do not overmix batter; it should not be completely smooth.  Spoon batter into oiled muffin pan or cupcake liners; filling 2/3 full.  Makes about 1 1/2 dozen.  Bake until lightly golden, 15-18 minutes.

 

NOTE: Optional- add about 6 chocolate chips to top of each muffin if you like.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Banana Muffins ~ Spring is in the Air

  1. I remember having those banana muffins at your house and they were delicious. So light and flavorful. One could not stop at just one.

  2. I am making these later .. when it cools down here a bit! I had thought I was out of brown sugar.. but I am not.. so it’s on! Thanks for the recipe. 🙂

  3. You can use white sugar too. I just thought brown would make them more flavorful. Let me know if you make them. I’m freezing up here –I have a heater on my toes as I’m writing this. I miss the sunshine!

  4. They are fabulous! love them. thanks! I didn’t have the buttermilk so I did the vinegar and milk thing.. the texture is wonderful.. thick and a bit springy.. with a crunch on the top with the browned edges. The six chocolate chips are perfect.. not too sweet. Great flavor.. I just have to figure out how to stop eating them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

