Homemade Pasta and Bolognese Sauce

Papa

ABOVE PHOTO Left to Right: My Papa (Joseph Pusateri), Great Grandpa Pusateri, Great Grandma Pusateri, Uncle Leo, and Uncle Frank.  Uncle Tony and Uncle Mike are not shown in this photo, but they are just as loved.

Making pasta is fun and easy!  Don’t waste your time on the electric pasta machines–they’re junk and the cleanup and product are not worth it.  The Atlas Italian Pasta maker is the way to go, and you can find them most kitchen stores or a thrift shop (just make sure they are in excellent shape and have all their parts).

One of my favorite cookbooks is “Cooking With Grace”by Grace Pilato.  She doesn’t get as much publicity as chefs you see on the “Food Network”, but the lady knows Italian cooking.  If you’re shopping for an Italian cookbook, I highly recommend this one.

The other day I pulled out my Atlas Pasta Machine, which is made in Italy and very affordable.  I made the Egg Pasta from Grace’s recipe:

2 1/2 c flour (unbleached all purpose only)

5 lg eggs, beaten

1/2 tsp salt

Tbsp. ex virgin olive oil

And it follows the basic egg pasta recipes.  Grace’s recipe is different in that she uses more eggs and she adds the EV Olivie Oil.

Final product looks like this:

drying.jpg

I served it with Bolognese Sauce, and it was unbelievably yummy.  It was also fun to make, and cooks in boiling water in a just few minutes.

served.jpg

The bolognese sauce is :

Angelninas Bolognese Sauce

¼ yellow onion, finely chopped

rib celery- diced in ¼ in pieces

sm. Carrot- 1/4 in diced

3 tbsp butter

3 tbsp olive oil

clove garlic, minced

1/3 cup chopped mushrooms

¼ tsp crushed red pepper flakes

Heavy-bottomed sauce pot over medium high heat. Saute, stirring occasionally till veggies lightly browned about 10 minutes. Add garlic, crushed pepper flakes, and mushroom till starts to sizzle.

1 lb. ground beef

½ lb. ground veal

4 links Italian sausage (removed casings) approx. 1 lb

Add meats, breaking up with wooden spoon. Continue stirring until meat has no pink.

2 cups dry white wine

Add wine and cook and stir till almost evaporated.

1 cup whole milk

1/8 tsp grated nutmeg

Add milk and nutmeg, stirring occasionally, until milk is mostly evaporated

28 oz can whole tomatoes

14 oz can crushed tomatoes

Coarsely chop tomatoes and add to pot. When it starts to boil, turn heat very low till barely simmering. Cook uncovered for 3 hours stirring occasionally. If all liquid evaporates add ½ cup water as needed. Make sure all liquid is evaporated before you remove sauce from heat.

Ladle of rigatoni pasta, and sprinkle with fresh grated or shredded parmesan and serve.

Don’t forget Italian Bread and Dry Red Wine!  Now,  “Mangia Mangia!”

NOTE: Vegetarian As you know, pasta can be served with meatless marinara sauce too!  I will be posting my marinara sauce this week.  I make a huge batch of it and freeze it in individual containers.
I know many people do not eat veal.  I don’t like to eat it either, so I add more pork or beef in place.
4 thoughts on “Homemade Pasta and Bolognese Sauce

  1. I *like* veal, but the animal rights activist in me can’t bear to eat it. I live in a state that’s about to ban veal crates, so not sure if they have a gentler way of raising them or what…

    The recipe sounds fabulous. I will try it, but I think making my own pasta may be a bit too advanced for my cooking skills as the currently stand!

  2. I love the taste of veal, but the hypocrite in me says it’s worse than eating other meats. I don’t like how it’s raised. Sad. I’ve also noticed my tastes are moving away from meat–at least for now. I do have to admit, I made my first buffalo chili the other night.

    You might be surprised how easy making your own pasta can be. Especially with one of those Atlas pasta makers.

    I’ll be posting my vegetarian marinara sauce here in a few days.
    hey, thanks for peeking in. Nice to meet you 🙂

  3. Pingback: Shopping in Bulk~Fresh Mozzarella~ Stuffed Shells and Paninis « Angelnina’s Cottage

Leave a Reply

