Ina Garten’s Espresso Ice Cream

 

Another excellent Barefoot Contessa recipe (not from her Paris cookbook!). A friend at a cookbook

group had once made this and it was so good I decided to make it myself.

If you dont have an electric ice cream maker, you have to get one before summer. The prices on these babies have dropped since I bought my first one. My second came from a moving sale and it had never been opened! $5 for a brand new Cuisinart ice cream machine is hard to beat. I like to have two in order to make two different ice creams at once. Or you can make gelato and sorbet as well.

It is going to be a Seattle style scorcher here today74 degrees (or so they say)and in Seattle, we love our coffee and espresso, so I think it is only fitting that I made Espresso Ice Cream this morning. 

BAREFOOT CONTESSA’S ESPRESSO ICE CREAM

Makes 1 quart

Note: Be sure you use finely ground espresso beans, not instant espresso.

3 cups half-and-half
6 extra-large egg yolks
2/3 cup sugar
Pinch of salt
2 1/2 tablespoons ground espresso coffee beans, decaffeinated or regular
1 tablespoon Kahlúa liqueur
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
4 ounces (1/2 cup) chocolate-covered espresso beans, chopped

1. Heat the half-and-half until it forms bubbles around the edge of the pan and steam starts to rise. Meanwhile, in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the egg yolks, sugar, and salt until mixed. Slowly add the hot half-and-half until combined. Wipe out the pan and pour the mixture back into the clean pan. Cook over medium-low heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon, for 5 minutes, until it’s thickened and the cream coats the back of the spoon.

2. Pour the cream through a fine-meshed sieve into a bowl. Add the ground espresso beans, Kahlúa, and vanilla and refrigerate until completely chilled.

3. Pour the espresso cream into an ice-cream freezer and freeze according to the manufacturer’s directions. Mix in the chopped espresso beans, spoon into a container, and allow to freeze for a few hours. Soften slightly before serving.

 

These work great!

 

I still cover it with a kitchen towel to give more insulatation

NOTE: I spin in my ice cream maker for 25 minutes. 

The bottom photo shows my ice cream before I have placed it in a container and freezer for 2 hours.  In two hours it will be hard ice cream.  I prefer to serve it after it has been in the freezer a few hours so that my guest don’t end up with soup after their first bite.

 I found milk chocolate covered espresso beans at a candy shop, and they also sell them at the larger super markets.

Warning: This ice cream is high in caffiene and will keep you up like regular espresso! Use decaf if it is an issue.  Next time I will cut back on the amount of espresso.

This was originally posted on My Live Journal in 2006 

 

6 thoughts on “Ina Garten’s Espresso Ice Cream

  1. I am on the lookout for an icecream maker now!! .. and caffiene isn’t an issue here. .. I could use some now.. Looks delish!

  2. I think the coffee flavor was a bit overwhelming for me, so I would cut down on it a bit. Oh, you’ll love the buzz though HA!
    Check Craig’s List too! A friend of mine got one on Ebay. Let me know if you get one. I have fun with mine.

Leave a Reply

