Olivia’s Birthday and Liz’s German Chocolate Cake

 

 

 We celebrated my son’s girlfriend, Olivia’s, birthday last week.  I made a German Chocolate Cake for her, and we played “Apples to Apples” over wine, cake, and tea.

“Apples to Apples” seems like an innocent enough game–until you bring it to the dysfunctional family’s table.  Each person gets to play “judge” and the rest of the control freaks–ur, I mean people,  have to choose the card they believe the judge will choose.  I enjoyed myself immensely.  We met one of Sean and Olivia’s friends, and of course my friend Kay, joined in the festivities.  Mom and Step-Daddy were great sports and jumped right in with us. 

 

At one point, my son, Sean, pointed at me and commented to his friend, “See? Now you know why I’m the way I am!”  That was so sweet.   I’m sure he was pointing out why he is so charming, cute, and intelligent.  I mean, what else could he have meant?

In the end, Olivia had a few gifts to take home.  I gave her a pair of puppy slippers.   I wasn’t sure how they would be received, but Olivia is a dog lover, and the slippers I gave her for Christmas didn’t fit, so I snuck in some replacements, along with my birthday gift card for Target (I know I wasn’t too creative, but some people are darn tough to shop for), I also gave her some See’s Chocolates–because they’re medicinal.  It’s true! 

Sean usually chooses the music when he visits 🙂

I believe she left with a beautiful potted flower and some goodies from Kay, and a World Market card from Mom and Step-Daddy. 

blowing candles

Happy Birthday Olivia.  Enjoy the year 🙂

My girlfriend, Liz, once baked an entire German Chocolate Cake and brought it to me–just because.  Now if that isn’t a true blue friend, I don’t know what true blue is!

Liz’s German Chocolate Cake Recipe

For cake:

1 box German Chocolate Cake mix

1/3 cup sweetened condensed milk

–  Follow instructions on box EXCEPT add 1/3 cup sweetened condensed milk in place of 1/3 cup of the water on instructions.  Then, follow cake instructions.

Frosting:

Remaining sweetened condensed milk in 14 oz can. 

1 egg yolk

3 Tbsp unsalted Butter

Combine above in saucepan and cook over medium heat.  When it starts to bubble cook about 3-4 minutes.  Don’t let it scorch.  Keep it stirring and turn heat lower if you have to.  You might see a few scorched flecks, but keep stirring and lower your hear–keep whisking it well.  I believe I overcooked mine a little.

Remove from heat and add 1/3 cup sweetened shredded coconut and 1/2 cup chopped, pecans or more if you like.

NOTE: I tripled the frosting recipe for this cake.  Liz says that sometimes she quadruples it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Olivia’s Birthday and Liz’s German Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

