Mexican Cookies

I love a good Mexican Cookie. 

Mexican Wedding Cookies are high on my list.  I also enjoy Biscochitos, which I believe is a New Mexican cookie, is also a favorite.

Mark’s mother is Mexican American, born in New Mexico, and she taught me to make a cookie called Biscochitos.   I am linking to a recipe I’ve never tried, and it is a bit different from her recipe.  Apparently, there are several recipes out there to be found.   I’m still looking for a Biscochito recipe that uses only butter and no lard or shortening.  I’m sure it will change the texture, but I think I might try it myself one day.

The other day, I was craving a glass of Horchata. I decided to try a Mexican cookie with an accent on cinnamon and vanilla.  I’m not completely impressed yet, but Mark and Sean seemed to enjoy these quite a bit!   I think next time I’ll do something with rice flour too.

Angelnina’s “Mexican” Cookie

1 cup butter (slightly softened, NOT melted)

3/4 cup powdered sugar

2 1/4 cup flour

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/4  tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp salt

1/3 cup vanilla sugar  (optional–you may substitute regular white sugar)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

In large bowl, beat butter well till smooth and fluffy.
Add the powdered sugar, flour, vanilla, cinnamon, and salt until well combined.
Dough should be stiff.
Shape into a ball and wrap with parchment paper.
Refrigerate 20-30 minutes.
Pinch off small pieces of dough and shape into 1″ balls.
Place approx. 1″ apart on ungreased cookie sheet.
Bake in 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes or until light golden brown.
Combine vanilla sugar and cinnamon. Roll hot cookies in this mixture.
Allow to cool on rack.
VANILLA SUGAR RECIPE
Simple.  After using the beans for another recipe, toss your vanilla pod into a little bowl of sugar, seal it, and store in a dark place and allow the flavors to blend.  OR go ahead a spit an entire vanilla pod and throw it in.  Some people take the vanilla pod out of a recipe they use it in and stick it right into the sugar to extract all of the flavor.  You can use this sugar in almost all baked goods–it’s very good!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mexican Cookies

  1. I love mexican wedding cookies.. aka russian tea cakes aka snowballs. They are very buttery but not much on cinnamon though. kind of doughy.. rolled in powdered sugar.. but I love them. I grew up on them. I have never had horchata. I live in a town where 50% of the population is Hispanic. have you tried just replacing the lard for butter? I should think it would be fabulous. Sometimes we just cut flour tortillas into triangles and fry them in a pan with a little oil … pull them out and sprinkle them with cinnamon and sugar… yummy.

  2. Oh, Horchata is addictive once you get used to it. I’m going to try the biscochitos with just butter, although I’ve been told they aren’t the same. Maybe I’ll create a new cookie 🙂
    Oh, fried flour tortillas with cinnamon and sugar are SO good. I’m going to post a recipe I think you’ll love. It involves fried flour tortillas and cinn and sugar, but it takes the dessert to a whole new level!

Leave a Reply

