My Hipneck Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day was fun this year.  Sean called and offered to take me to dinner.  I asked if I could think about it for a few minutes.  I didn’t want to reject his gift offer, but at the same time, I realized going out to eat means I have less time to share with him.  Usually we’re all focused on menus, service, food, etc.  I wanted real time together.  I called him back and asked if he would like to come over and roast chicken dogs on the back patio.  We’ve never done anything like this before for a “formal” holiday.  I think in a moment of presence, I realized I didn’t want to be out at a fancy restaurant.  I wanted time with Sean.  To my surprise, there was no hesitation and Sean responded with, “Okay, let’s do it.”

I lit up the pot belly stove I had scored at an estate sale some years ago.  I’d never lit it before, so I wasn’t sure if it would warm us in the cloudy cool weather.  After about an hour of burning it felt like a powerful heater!   It was a great Mother’s Day.  Maybe one of my favorites in recent years.

 Photobucket

 Sean and Olivia were good sports about the entire experience.

Photobucket

No fancy cookin’ today.

 

Happy Day!

Recipe for a Happy Day

A few People you Love

Presence

-Mix together and enjoy.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “My Hipneck Mother’s Day

  1. I dont think that could have been a lovelier (sp?) Mothers day. You are lucky to have your son so close to enjoy this time together.

  2. Colleen, Thanks for peeking in at my Mother’s day 🙂 It was so much fun.

    Judi, i feel lucky to have him close. I don’t think it will be for long. He is applying for graduate school. It’s going to be weird to have him far away.

  3. Love the stove!! you have to use it more often.. you’re mothers day sounded similar to mine. I was asked to go out but chose to stay in. We bbq-ed though. I would love to have a little pot belly!

    It really looks like such a good time. Family time. There’s something about a fire that really enhances the outdoor experience. It’s primal I think.

Leave a Reply

