Garden Gnomes, Fairies, and Wee Folk ~ Do You Believe?

ABOVE: one of many gnomes left in my yard my the former owner.

When I was around four years old, an elf-like being came to visit me in the middle of the night.  Well, I’m not quite sure he was an elf.  In my four year old mind, he appeared to be an elf.  He made an unbearable few months more tolerable.  He visited two or three times that I remember.  He wore pajamas similar to my little male cousins.  One time he played the piano for me. 

I know it could have been a dream sequence, but I’d like to imagine he was real and sent from another realm to make me smile.  I never forgot him.

When I bought this home over three years ago, the gnomes came with it.  I had wanted to haul them away, as I found them a little tacky and faded, but for some reason they grew on me.  They serve as a reminder that there are many things I do not understand, and there is more to the world than a little me.

 

ABOVE: This one appears to have been painted and he will be close to the chicken coop

Above:  I love this little sleeping gnome

 

ABOVE: Even this little frog was left

3 thoughts on “Garden Gnomes, Fairies, and Wee Folk ~ Do You Believe?

  1. I love them!!! it’s like they are the gardeners… they all have their tools… well two of them do. the rest must be on break. I like the look of the more weathered ones.

    When I was young I swear my stuffed animals all started dancing on their shelves…. for me. My mother insisted I must have had a fever of some sort.

    When I got my first apartment one night I was awakened by a sound like a wind chime… in my room. and I woke up and there was this “sparkling” over me and it just stayed there for about two minutes and I watched it.. and it didn’t scare me at all… and then it just went dim and disappeared and the wind chime noise stopped. .. so I totally believe in you seeing elves. 🙂

  2. Thanks… you’re awesome as well! I think the toad is actually a person who fell under some witches spell. lol. Maybe it was a gnome…

    (I am also a bit touched.):P

Leave a Reply

