Chicken Coops and Basmati Rice Pudding

It’s cold and raining here in the great Pacific Northwestern US.  Big surprise, eh?

Mark has been busy on the chicken coop.  He is promising to have it mostly finished by tomorrow.  We still need a vinyl floor to put inside.  Soon, we’ll add the pen and finally the chicks will have a lot more fun than they’re having in that old brooder.  I don’t know if you can even call it a brooder.  It’s basically half a row of kitchen cabinets turned over on the side.  They aren’t complaining, but I’d like to get to be able to stretch out a bit more. 

As I’m writing this I can see Mark carrying the main door out to the coop..we must be getting close.

ABOVE: Mark working on the Chicken Coop

I have managed to entertain myself inside.  I started the day with some yoga and a fast paced walk on the treadmill.  Sometimes I wake up with horrible headaches at the base of the back of my head.  I tried to drink lots of water, do yoga, and then walk it off on the treadmill before I realized it’s going to take 3 Advil to stop the pounding.  I even tried my old homeopathic constitutional before giving in.  I suppose taking Advil isn’t the worst thing in the world.  It worked.

In other news:

I am trying to clean my pantry and use what I have before I go out and buy more food.

 Photobucket

ABOVE: My pantry–dwindling

After a nice conversation with my friend Liz, I decided to go through my fridge and I found my leftover basmati rice from last night.  I hate to throw away rice–especially at the prices they’re charging now.  I decided to make up an Indian style rice pudding.  I’m very happy with how it turned out.  I brought some out for Mark to try and he said it was really really good. 

I tried to use what I could from the pantry: coconut milk and rose water

 Photobucket

ABOVE: Rose water I bought in my “Act like a lunatic and buy food you don’t need” days.

 
Photobucket

In the end, I have to say, I think the rice pudding turned out great.  I’ll make it again. I’m not sure if the rosewater added anything.  I think using vanilla and cinnamon may have defeated the purpose of the rose water, but I was aching to throw it in.  I was having one of those “Act like a lunatic and add ingredients you don’t need” days.

 
want to see the recipe? Click here…
Anglenina’s Basmati Rice Pudding

2 1/4 cups leftover cooked white basmati rice (go crazy and use any rice)

1 cup canned coconut milk

1/2 cup milk (you’ll need more milk later!)

2/3 cup sugar (or 1/2 cup depending how sweet you like it)

2 cinnamon sticks

1/4 tsp cardomom ground

*Combine and cook the above ingredients over med heat  for about 15 minutes–stir pretty regularly

Add:

3/4 cup milk

1 egg, beaten

Combine beaten egg and milk and stir into rice mixture non-stop for 2 more minutes.

Remove pan from heat and add:

1 Tbsp rose water (optional)

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 Tbsp butter

Stir and serve.  You may also add pistachios, raisins, currants, or any other things you like in your rice pudding.

Serve and enjoy.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Chicken Coops and Basmati Rice Pudding

  1. Hi Sarah! Thank you 🙂 Mark has really amazed me with the coop. He used one of my old vintage windows which added some charm. I’m going to post the series of photos of maybe I’ll do a little video of the finished product. I’d like to add a flower box or two as well. I think we’ll be moving them in tonight, but the finishing touches will come. Thanks for commenting here 🙂

  2. Your coop is cool looking… the chicks will be proud to live there. lucky chicks. I love that branch that’s hanging in the picture.. it looks like a weeping evergreen! pretty.

    I want a decent pantry… the one I have now is also being shared with car washing supplies and lantern fluid and the likes… I used to buy foods just for the uniqueness.. . now I am stocking up on basics whenever possible. It’s a sad sad day.. maybe this will make me frugal forever… I now realize how very wasteful I was .. with our money.

  3. Kim: Thanks, I just found these comments–I’m still learning my way around this blog 🙂

    Patricia: Nice to meet you! I looked at your blog and your kids are adorable.

    Melanie: Maybe you can give me more suggestions as what I can use it in?

Leave a Reply

