UPDATE: Second Loaf on Convection Bake “Artisan Bread in Five Minutes”

Photobucket

Photobucket

I baked my second loaf today.  I haven’t cut into it yet, but the crust is even better looking this time.  I made a few changes:  I slit after rising–I had to let it rise for almost an hour this time.  I set my oven to convection bake at 425 degrees for 45 minutes prior to baking.  I still used the pizza stone and cup of a boiling water for steam.  After fifteen mintues of convection at 425 degrees, I quickly switched my oven to regular bake cycle at 450 degrees for another fifteen minutes.  I can see the crust is crackling (I shouldn’t have kept tapping it 🙂  Looks like a winner.  I’ll let you know how it tastes later.

Photobucket

Photobucket

17 thoughts on “UPDATE: Second Loaf on Convection Bake “Artisan Bread in Five Minutes”

  1. Are you saying the “no knead” bread is too crusty? Or do you like it that way?

    My kidlets came over and tried some of the Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes tonight and they loved the stuff too!
    Have you tried it?

  2. I like crusty breads. It was so crusty I needed a saw-like knife to cut it. it was a good basic bread, it could use a bit more flavor according to the family. I have a “friend” who tried it on my recommendation and she “unfriended” me afterwards. Which I know is her problemo. … anywho… :)I felt compelled to warn you that it’s crusty… in case you weren’t fond of crusty breads. Very crusty breads.

    I linked my post on it as my “website” above… if you didn’t see it before on my blog.

    P.S. I made muffuletta’s with a round I baked.

  3. I don’t have a convection oven but I tried this recipe… and it was awesome! better than the no knead… more flavor.. a little denser… less crusty. delicious! sooo good.
    thanks again!!

  4. Help! This dough was so wet I couldn’t even shape it to slap it on the stone. More than half came off on my fingers. I had to add more than 1/2 cup additional flour. Is this how it was for you?

  5. KIM: I’m so happy it turned out and you love it!
    It’s the only bread in my house now, and Mark is very spoiled.

    SHANNON: No, my dough is wet, but I can still form a soft ball. I use a lot of flour when I scoop it out.
    Did you watch the video I posted on this blog?https://angelnina.wordpress.com/2008/07/02/artisan-bread-in-five-minutes-a-day-yes/

    Maybe it will show you the dough consistency.

    If you let it sit in the fridge it is MUCH easier to work with. When I first mix the ingredients,I let mine rise for two or more hours , then I place it in a storage container in the fridge (not an air tight container), and then I wait about three hours before I shape, rest, and bake the first loaf. You don’t have to, but it helps.

    I’m wondering if you let it sit in the fridge if the dough will be easier for you to work with? Also, the author commented on the blog I posted and he left his website. Maybe he can tell you what the problem might be.

    I wish you the best of luck and please keep me informed as to how the remaining dough turns out. If you have any other questions, let me know and I’ll do my best to help.

  6. okay the video is super helpful! i was not scooping and sweeping so that probably accounts for some of my wetness. The fridge rest sounds good too. thanks!

  7. Pingback: Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day? YES! « Angelnina’s Cottage

  8. Hey y’all –

    I LOVE this recipe, and the book! The dough seems to work better, and the bread is prettier, if it can sit in the fridge for a day or 2. I started dough on Sunday and made bread Tues..it has been the best looking loaf yet!

    Make sure your oven is very well heated. I use a Pampered Chef baking stone that I have, and that seems to work well. The book says a regular baking sheet is ok, but have not tried that yet – maybe this weekend as I have a batch started now.

    I am trying to find some variations on the bread – such as Parmesan Garlic. I found this board from a link from a Google search for above, but had yet to find a recipe, or a review on the results. Any help out there!!

    You have **GOT** to try this!!! It is so easy, and yields such good results!!! I took a loaf to work, and they all raved how nice looking and tasty it was-they actually compared to what you would find in a bakery!!

  9. I am a true bread maker, you know the old fashion way, but the recipes in Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Dayare really great! I have made 5 loaves now with the same ingredients I use in my old fashion recipes and everyone has turn out every well.

    My household says I should only make this type of bread, always. A two thumbs up to Jeff and Zoe.

  10. Pingback: Club Kitty Spain – Part 2: The Prep « Club Kitty

  11. Pingback: Chicks and Bread « Angelnina’s Cottage

  12. I baked up the last of my refrigerated dough last night after almost two weeks. I did find it much easier to handle at this point, and my daughter said it tasted better than the first loaf.

    Wow! This really revolutionizes home made bread making! I’m hooked! Thanks!

    • My son surprised me with the book and I have since tried more of the recipes. The rye and brioche are fabulous! I love having dough on hand and baking up loaves in a pinch to bring to friends and family. Everyone loves a fresh loaf of bread! Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

  13. With all the snow this winter, I have been doing a lot of bread baking using ABin5 recipes. With the volume of loaves I’ve been churning out, my only complaint has been the cornmeal mess in my oven! I found the Jim Lahey No-Knead Method. He uses a dutch oven, cast iron, or pyrex covered casserole to bake the bread in, with the idea of trapping the steam in (nix the broiler pan & water) to create a crispy, crackly crust. Tried it today and I’m sold! Just thought I’d comment here since you turned me on to the ABin5! Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

