Le Jardin (An update on my vegetable gardens)

My gardens are doing well.  The weather has been unusual.  Cold one day.  Hot one day.  Rain one day.

Somehow, the veggies are managing to grow right along.

Photobucket

Photobucket

 ABOVE: My front yard garden.  The photo was taken before I pruned my tomatoes.  This is the first year I pruned back most branches below the first level of flowers.  I also removed all of the suckers.  I knew I had made a mistake planting tomatoes too close together, but by the time I understood the Square Foot Gardening method, my tomatoes had set some pretty good roots.  I decided to pull a few out and plant them in pots.  They’re struggling, but I think I may get some fruit out of them yet.

Photobucket

Photobucket

A few days after I took the photo of my squash and melon garden–they took off.  They’re huge now and I still need to remove a few and move them.  I’m going to have enough squash to feed an army.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Escarole from the back yard garden.  I love this stuff.  I’ll be eating some tomorrow.  You simply throw  it in a pan with olive oil, garlic, crushed red peppers, and cannelini beans.  Mmmmm.
Photobucket

Photobucket

The beets are looking good.  These are my red beets.  I planted a few gold as well.  I’ll be planting more of these right away.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Lipstick peppers.  My first year for these.  Supposed to be nice in salads and such.
Photobucket

Photobucket

A visitor doing her job on the artichokes.

2 thoughts on “Le Jardin (An update on my vegetable gardens)

  1. Thank you! It’s coming along. I’ve had a few issues that by season’s end I’d like to remedy. I’ve also tried new ideas–like square foot gardening which kind of went all to hell in my backyard garden, but the front square foot garden is doing very well 🙂

Leave a Reply

