Garden Soup and Italian Semolina Artisan Bread

Photobucket

Angelnina's Garden Soup

 

Last week I didn’t feel like cooking a big meal, so I threw together a pot of soup.  I made up a recipe using a few things from the garden and my pantry.  I think I’ll call it Angelnina’s Garden Soup.  Sometimes I make a huge batch of marinara sauce and freeze it in individual containers.  I pulled out a pint to use as a base in the soup–I make my marinara pretty darn spicy with crushed red peppers.  I also used 2 qts of chicken stock (If you don’t have any homemade, grab a few boxes at Trader Joes).  In a little olive oil I cooked a little onion, celery, carrots, and potatoes before tossing them in the pot.  I was grabbing things left and right from the garden and pantry: kale, escarole, zucchini, yellow squash, garbanzo beans–everything went right into the pot!  I boiled some pasta and added freshly grated parmesan reggiano . 

As with many soups, it tasted better the next day. 

I served the soup with bread from the book “Artisan Bread in Five Minutes”.  I’ve posted photos of the basic recipe, but a few days ago I baked these two loaves of the Italian Semolina Bread.  I gave one to my son, Sean, but I haven’t heard back from him yet on whether he liked it or not.  Mark and I love it!

Photobucket

Italian Semolina Artisan Bread

Subscribe in a reader

8 thoughts on “Garden Soup and Italian Semolina Artisan Bread

  1. Thank you Lillian 🙂 Sometimes you just have to throw a few things in a pot and hope for the best. I’m always looking for ways to use up the greens in the garden.

  2. Your dishes always look so beautiful. I like the squash bloom.. did you eat it? I know it’s a delicacy somewhere.. and I saw them for sale at the farmers market.

    if you did.. what do they taste like?

  3. Oh Kim, they’re yummy! You can bread and fry them or you can stuff them with cheese and bread and fry them too. NUMMY! I didn’t cook or eat that particular one.

  4. I’ve been thinking about trying that bread for awhile now – and the soup! I’m starving now 🙂

    I made pizza for the first time last night using a pizza stone and thought of you – soo good! Why on earth have we been buying pizza??

  5. Maven: It’s funny, since I’ve been making pizza more often at home, whenever we buy it out, we’re disappointed. There is still one place in Seattle where I do enjoy the pizza, but it’s far from where we live. It’s so easy to make pizza if you use the Artisan Bread in Five Minutes recipe and keep it in the fridge. Now that I’m freezing marinara, it’s as simple as throwing it all in the oven.
    Now we need to get the guys to build us an outdoor pizza oven 🙂

  6. An outdoor oven is such a dream!! I can totally see you with one 🙂

    I’m growing basil like a mad woman this summer and want to look into canning pesto in the same way I would jam. Not sure if it can be done… but I could freeze it. Thanks for the idea!

    Hoping as well to yield enough tomatoes this year to can a lot of sauce. I am certain your marinara sauce must be amazing. To this day, your recipes for shrimp linguini and roast chicken are tried and true fabvourites for entertaining. Have you posted the recipes? They’re both show stoppers yet relatively easy for a beginner cook.

  7. I’ve got basil coming out of my ears too. By the time mine was ready to share, everybody had already bought their own basil (wind storm knocked over green house–long story). I’m going to make tons of pesto and freeze it in ice cube trays.

    As far as the shrimp linguini and roast chicken–I think I’ve posted those recipes somewhere in blog land. I’m happy you’ve found them useful for entertaining. The shrimp linguini seems to be the one I pull out of my hat when somebody is coming last minute.

    I want to can sauce this year too. I am thinking of simply canning the tomatoes in order to avoid pressure canning. If our weather doesn’t get warmer, I’m going to be hanging my tomato plants in the garage again this fall. I hate doing that–such a mess!

Leave a Reply

