The Accidental Pie

Photobucket

Peach Raspberry Strawberry Pie

 

I had to share this wonderful accident with somebody!  I had some fresh peaches and had intended to make an upside down peach and lavendar cake.

One evening I had some last minute guests and decided to pull out some of my fresh picked raspberries and strawberries to share. I accidentally forgot the remaining berries on the counter, and I ended up defrosting too many. I had 4 ripe peaches and a a few pints each of raspberries and strawberries, so I made a pie.

I’m not kidding when I say, this is a winner! The flavors are wonderful together, and even though my top crusted kind of exploded, it didn’t effect the taste at all. Everybody who tried it said they really loved it.

Every bite tastes like summer!

Angelnina’s Peach, Raspberry, and Strawberry Pie4 fresh and ripe peaches, sliced

1 pint whole strawberries

1 1/2 cups raspberries

Mix fruit together gently with 2 Tbsp lemon juice

Stir together 3/4 cup sugar, 3 heaping tablespoons of cornstarch, 1/2 or 3/4 teaspsoon cinnamon

Add it to the fruit and gently fold it all together.

Using a double pie crust, line the pie pan with one crust, poke a few holes with fork, add fruit mixture.

Dot top of fruit with a couple tablespoons of butter.

Cover with top crust and seal crusts together. Paint top with melted butter and sprinkle sugar and cinnamon generously over the top of the crust.

Bake at 375 for approx. 40-50 minutes (check to make sure it doesn’t burn crust–cover edge crust with foil if it browns too fast. Serve w/ vanilla ice cream!

NOTE: Make sure you cut sufficient venting in top crust, my heart of dough stopped up the vent and caused it to explode a bit 🙂

Subscribe to Angelnina’s Cottage by Email

7 thoughts on “The Accidental Pie

  1. That sounds and looks so wonderful and I’ve never heard of that combination before. I’ll have to remember it if I ever get those three fruits together in my kitchen.
    Lillian

  2. Lillian: Thank you 🙂 I was beside myself when I saw the defrosted fruit, so I was pleasantly surprised to see how well they worked together. I guess you really can’t go wrong with peaches, raspberries, and strawberries. Then again, I LOVE pie 🙂

    Maven: I want to make another one too! Oh and a head up–You might want to taste the fruit and sugar mixture and see what level of sweetness works for you. I’ve noticed different people can be picky about the sweetness of their pies. Also, depending on fruit ripeness the sweetness can be different. My fruit was very sweet and ripe.

    Let me know if you like it!

  3. I’m going to make it on Saturday and I will definitely let you know. Am also attempting dill pickles this weekend. There’s something comforting about canning 🙂

    Thanks again for the wonderful post on ego A. It has had me thinking a lot these last few days. That list was pretty amazing.

Leave a Reply

