Chicken Parmesan- From Mario Batali’s “Otto” and Bon Appetit

Photobucket

Chicken Parmesan w/ Mario Batali Simple Tomato Sauce

 

The cover dish on September’s 2008 Bon Appetit–one of my favorite cooking magazines.

Found in the section titled “The First Seating”–A section dedicated to recipes chefs cook for themselves  and their staffs before their busy shifts begin.  Recipe by Otto sous chef Antonio Maldonado.

Otto New York

Chicken Parmesan

ANGELNINA’S NOTES: You can click on the link directly above to find the recipe. 

I did make a few changes:

-I used 1 cup chopped onions-not 1 3/4 cups.

-2 Tbsp chopped fresh thyme–not 3

-6 chicken breasts not 10 (6 was plenty as when they’re pounded they’re huge)

Also, in the end I sprinkled the chopped fresh marjoram, but not the entire Tablespoon–I wasn’t a huge fan of the marjoram and will leave it out next time.  Leave up to your own personl preference.

I served the Chicken Parmesan to Mark, Sean, and Olivia.  We had too much food, and it was very good!  We served this with an Italian salad and fresh baked artisan bread.  Everybody cleaned their plate, and commented on how great the sauce tasted.

Another winner from Bon Appetit.

Photobucket

Onion, garlic, carrots, thyme

Photobucket

Basic Tomato Sauce

Photobucket

Chicken Parmesan--Layered

Photobucket
Chicken Parmesan Served

I will definitely make this one again!

Dessert was tea and a banana chocolate chip pecan bread. 

 

12 thoughts on “Chicken Parmesan- From Mario Batali’s “Otto” and Bon Appetit

  1. I’m coming over for dinner! 😛 I loooove chicken parm, and Chef Batali is great! He is my favorite on iron chef.

    We made chicken parm not too long ago, but I could still go for more. 🙂 I like the idea of cooking it in a baking dish.

  2. VICTORIA: You’re always welcome!
    You know, I liked the idea of stacking and the baking dish too. It was a first for me. the sauce and the cheeses were wonderful.

    Mario Batali is funny too. I watched him on “No Reservations” with Anthony Bourdain.

    ANNA: Thank you! Let me know how you like it 🙂

  3. I LOVE this!

    I am so bored with the same old food and want to make this for dinner tomorrow night. I’d make it tonight but the PB has his heart set on your shrimp linguini.

    Meant to tell you I haven’t had a chance to make the accidental pie yet, but that I will and when I do I’ll let you know how much we loved it 🙂

    I enjoy watching Mario on iron Chef America. He seems incredibly good natured. Anthony Bourdain used to have a fantastic show on the Food Network – I miss it.

  4. We love to watch “No Reservations” (Travel Channel) so much that we record it On Demand. Sean and Olivia watch it when they come for a visit. I’ve read his books too–can’t get enough of “Tony”.

    Everybody loved this dish. I might change up the seasonings again. I like crushed red pepper for heat, and I missed my basil and oregano. I need to get out of my triple herb funk. I try.

  5. Is No Reservations the one where he goes all over the world and tries the local cuisne? That was the one I watched. If not, then I have to see this series!

    Another good one is Top Chef.

  6. I don’t know if I told you this before but I am glad this blog has a recipe index!! really glad. 🙂 Maybe I’ll make this, this weekend. 😛

  7. Is anyone else bothered by the loud background ‘music?’ on so many of the cooking shows? It literally drowns out the voices of the chefs. It is extremely irritating. I’d like to let the networks know bad that is.

Leave a Reply

