Got Zucchini?

Me too!

 Photobucket

Photobucket

Can anybody ever have too much zucchini?  Apparently so.  This is a drop in my zucchini bucket, but I’m too lazy to take an updated picture this afternoon, so suffice it to say, I have a quite a bit of zucchini.

Some ideas?

Well, the super club sized zucchini needs to be made into Italian Stuffed Zucchini.  I may have waited too long and it may be chicken feed before I get around to it. 

The smaller zucchini will  NOT be wasted.  The huge 17  incher got away from me.  It blended so well with the giant squash leaves that I never saw it until I couldn’t lift it.

I’ve made:

Cornmeal Fried Zucchini

 Photobucket

Slice zucchini, dip in egg wash, dip in yellow cornmeal and fry in 1/4″ olive oil.  Salt with Kosher salt and enjoy!  These are addictive for my family.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread (CLICK HERE FOR RECIPE)

Photobucket

Photobucket

ANGELNINA’S NOTES:

For the Zucchini bread:

-I changed 2 cups of sugar to- 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar.

-I’d only add 1/2 tsp cinnamon next time

 Talk about moist and chocolately!

Mediterranean Zucchini Casserole

Photobucket

Before baking

I didn’t have fresh tomatoes, so I used canned.  I’m sure it’s much better with fresh garden tomatoes, but mine are moving along slowly this summer.
I also added Parmesan reggiano to the layers, and I double it.  It made for great lunches the following day.
I forgot to take a photo of it afer it baked!

 I’ve also shredded and froze as much zucchini as I can.  I will add it to soups, sauces, muffins, cakes, cookies, etc.

13 thoughts on “Got Zucchini?

  1. WOW That’s a BIG one! LOL I kinda giggles as I typed that. *smacks dirty thoughts away*

    I had some very large ones too and way too many of them. From one single plant! I don’t even know why I grew them as I’m not a huge fan in the first place.

    I’m going to try your cornmeal recipe. I do think I’d like that.

  2. 17″ makes a country gal run from the fields! 😉

    Everything tastes great fried :)The fired zucchini is a southern/ Italian easy recipe. I like it heavy on the salt.

    Have you tried chocolate zucchini bread/ cake? You can’t taste the zucchini.

  3. I’m sure glad to see that I’m not the only one with zucchini’s coming out of my ears! I like the cornmeal fried recipe and I’m going to try the chocolate bread also. I bet that is really moist.

    Today I made a casserole and it wasn’t too bad.
    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Zucchini-Casserole-I/Detail.aspx

    I shredded a bunch today and froze it but I also read you can cut it in 1/2 inch slices, put it in boiling water for 3 minutes, then ice water, drain and freeze….and it stays well for fried zucchini in the winter. Have you ever tried this? I’m wondering if it will be mushy when I thaw it out?

  4. Have you seen there are zucchini pie recipes that are like apple pie? Like people don’t know it’s zucchini, they think it’s apple. I guess a mock apple pie. Here’s one of the recipes, (there’s lots.)
    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Zucchini-Apple-Pie/Detail.aspx
    You could use the huge one and peel it, and take the seeds out and slice it like it’s apples. That’s what I plan to do when I have too many. (Mine are still growing.)
    Also last year I shredded lots of it and froze it to use in zucchini bread later it works good. I do it all at once in the food processor.
    Your fried zucchni looks so yummy!

  5. SUE: I’m so happy to be in good zucchini company 🙂
    I had read that it’s better to cut up the zucchini with skin on and freeze without placing in hot water first. Some people said it kept it from being soggy. Hmmm. I think I’ll try it both ways and see how it goes.
    Thanks for the recipe link..I can use all the help I can get. I just picked more today!

    HARDBOILED BLONDE: Thanks for the feedback on the shredded zucchini. Have you tried what Sue and I are talking about above? I’m curious.
    I am on my way to check out the link you posted above. Like I told Sue, I can use the help. I hope you get mountains of zucchini too, and if you don’t, come on up to Edmonds and I’ll load you up 😉

  6. First of all, that is one big ass zucchini!

    And you are reading my mind… I was the recipient of three slightly less big ass but still pretty impressive zucchini yesterday and I haven’t been sure what to do with them.

    You made me the cornmeal fried zucchini once and I loved it. I will do all three recipes.

    Tonight the PB made swiss steak in the slow cooker for dinner but tomorrow we’re going to try the chicken parmesan you posted yesterday.

    I”m thinking the cornmeal crusted zucchini would be nice alongside fish.

  7. Angelnina…Last week I tried something different with the oodles of zucchini. I sliced it raw in 1/2 inch pieces, then put it all in a big bowl of flour. Tossed that around, let it sit for awhile, then put it in freezer bags. I was hoping to achieve ready to go fried zucchini that wasn’t mushy.

    I thawed out a bag, lightly coated it again with seasonings and a touch more flour and fried it up. It was perfect and just like I cooked it fresh! It really didn’t need extra flour after I thawed it but I wish I would have seasoned the flour right before freezing. I’m thinking using your corn meal recipe would work too as a coating. It seems to help keep the zucchini dry in the freezer.

    Now it was only frozen for a week and the true test will be this winter when it’s been in the freezer for months but I thought I’d share just another way to rid ourselves of massive zucchini plagues 😉

  8. I am zucchini poor and I love zucchini! I make a crustless zucchini quiche that’s a little ‘basic’.. but most people I make it for rave about it. .. and I would assume it’s very freezeable but I never have any left overs.

  9. No, I’ve never tried freezing zucchini any other way. Baking with it is my favorite way to eat it, so that was the only thing I was thinking about, so it would be ready to go for that.

    I actually got some big zucchini today from a Freecycler, but mine is growing and on it’s way. But I would love to come see your place someday soon!

  10. MAVEN: How was the chicken parm? Did you make the zucchini?

    SUE: I’m gonna try it too! Thanks 🙂

    KIM: I would love to have that recipe…perty please?

    HBB: We should plan a get together. It would be so much fun. We can meet halfway or you can come up and check out life with chickens 🙂

  11. Your great pictures show perfectly the zucchini dilemma so many people are experiencing. The fried zucchini and bread look wonderful and your addition of Parmesan Regianno to my recipe had to take it up several notches. Loved the post.
    Lillian

Leave a Reply

