Zen, Baking Bread, and a Thrift Find

Photobucket

After watching (and enjoying) the documentary, How to Cook Your Life featuring Zen Priest Edward Espe Brown, I couldn’t wait to buy the Tassajara Bread Book!

I found out it had been updated over the years, and I was lucky enough to find the latest edition.

I’m excited to bake some of the recipes, and since the weather is cooler this week in the Pacific Northwest, I may give it a whirl.

In case you haven’t heard of the film, here is the trailer:

Oh, and in keeping with my thrift shop nerdiness, I found this very cool retro Salton electric bread warmer, and I can hardly wait to use it.  I’ve sold a few of these on Ebay, but I have never found one that had a blue and white checkered cover.  Usually they have the God awful gold, orange, or brown colors.

Photobucket

Photobucket

This will be nice for keeping muffins, bread, and rolls warm on the buffet…

if I don’t end up selling it on Ebay.  I’m fickle 🙂

7 thoughts on “Zen, Baking Bread, and a Thrift Find

  1. I really enjoyed it. I love docs that make me think, and this one truly touched my heart.

    Every since I picked up “A New Earth” and “The Power of Now”, I’ve been going through some powerful changes. I love it! I’m even growing my hair out LOL

    Baking bread is so much fun. I need to clean my house before I bake or cook anything this week. I’ve been lazy. I’m anemic again, but I’m treating it naturally this time, and I feel hopeful I won’t need iron infusions.

    What kind of bread are ya bakin’?

  2. I’ve been a baking fool. I did a couple loaves of just regular white bread. it’s an amish recipe and Vaughan loves it for his work sandwiches. I also made a pot of soup today so made a batch of cheesey dill and onion biscuits. They are so good I’m posting the recipe tomorrow. Your hair always looks so amazing. It’s fun to grow it out into a different style.

  3. You absolutely have the best thrift stores there! I have never even seen one of those bun warmer things! my gosh… what crap we have here.

  4. Great finds! I’ve been wanting to buy that bread book since I LOVED that movie as well, I actually own the DVD of the movie now, I just need the bread book.
    That bread warmer looks cool.

  5. Pingback: Winter Vegetable Soup and Tassajara Honey Wheat Bread « Angelnina’s Cottage

Leave a Reply

