Ch-ch-ch-ch Changes!

I posted this over at my LJ yesterday, but since I will be starting my work today, I thought I would share it here as well.
Photobucket

ABOVE:I found this antique farm cabinet in an estate sale basement.  I love to mix old with new.

I moved into my house 4 years ago, and made a lot of promises to myself about changes I wanted to make. So far, Mark and I have managed to make the kitchen more to our liking, we added a pantry, added two windows in the den, painted over the old brick, remmoved popcorn ceilings in den and kitchen,smooth walled and painted the den, installed surround sound, added raised bed vegetable gardens, built a chicken coop, installed stainless appliances, changed the fireplace front, removed unwanted shrubbery, planted raspberries, removed tons of ivy, installed a grape arbor, and re-roofed the always “soon to be” cottage.

I would liked to have completed more work in four years, but it is what it is.

I am ready to move on from the den and kitchen and into the dining room, formal living room, Master bed and bathroom, and the main bath as well. Mark usually does most of the work, because I’m rather small and not too handy in the construction department.

I’ve decided I need to make a few changes myself. I’d like to get the ball rolling, and see just what I’m capable of doing on my own.

I’ll be starting with completing the projects we started that I know I can do:

-Kitchen cabinets and trim need painted and touched up.

-Dining room needs primed and painted.

-Formal Living room, Dining room, hallway, baths, and bedrooms need new trim. Trim must be painted as well. I may not be able to apply trim on my own, but I can choose the trim and possibly paint it.

-Living room needs painting

-Drapes and rod in den–remove drape box

-Shop for supplies needed

I’m posting this list to keep myself honest.

Photobucket 
ABOVE: More thrift and estate sale finds
Photobucket

 

ABOVE: View from dining area to formal living area

So, off I go to paint the kitchen!

2 thoughts on “Ch-ch-ch-ch Changes!

  1. Good for you! More bizarro similarities – I came to the same conclusion this summer and began doing projects that I would usually wait for the PB to complete. A, it was so empowering! (and I got way more done OCD that I am 😉

    Keep us posted.

    I love that cabinet.

  2. I did it with the pruning and gardens, but the construction work always makes me a bit uneasy.

    I believe you’re right about it empowering me. Too many times I tell myself I’m too “little” to do things.

    Looking back at yesterday, I feel like I’m very happy with what I was able to do. I think I need to do before and after shots to remind myself of what I’m capable of.

    I don’t know where you get your energy! I need some of that OCD.

Leave a Reply

