Millions of Peaches, Peaches for Me

Photobucket

 I can’t help singing the song Blow up Your TV anytime I eat a peach.   If you’ve never heard the song, the chorus goes something like this:

Blow up your TV throw away your paper
Move to the country, build you a home
Plant a little garden, eat a lot of peaches
Try an find Jesus on your own

Well, it’s a good thing I was alone when I bought the peaches and drove them back to my house.  I think I sang that damn song at least ten times while I was preparing to can. 

Photobucket

I spent an entire day canning peaches.  I found a good deal on a box of freestone peaches.  I ended up with about 14 quarts of peaches (one jar broke), and 2 gallons of frozen sliced peaches. 

I’ve canned peaches. 

I’ve never canned 28 pounds of peaches before.  As my Okie/Texan daddy would say, “It weren’t easy!”

 I was also surprised at the texture–a bit too soft–cooked.  I followed the instructions, so I’m assuming it is the type of peach I used.  It doesn’t matter much to Mark and I —we love them just the same!

“Blow Up Your TV” soon turned into “Millions of Peaches”, peaches for me!” 

 

Photobucket

 I was still singing as Mark arrived home and he begged me to please change the broken record.  Sadly, I only know the words, “Millions of peaches, peaches for me!”  I just couldn’t stop. 

Photobucket

 As you can see, I started out all Martha Stewart-like.  I wish I had taken a photo of the kitchen afterwards.  There were peach peels on the cabinets doors and covering the kitchen floor. 

Photobucket

 

Photobucket

 

I haven’t tried the frozen peaches yet.  They have a lot of sugar–I used Alton Brown’s method.  I’ll probably use them in a pie or tart.

Photobucket

I am trying to cook and bake using mostly Washington grown foods.  It has been a challenge, and I’m certainly far from diving in head first.  I’m researching and deciding what will best work for me and my family.  I’m very grateful for Washington wines, and I happen to prefer wines from our area.

I also canned a few jars of dill pickles.  My son grew a lot of dill and offered his plant to me to use for my pickles.  I hope they won’t disappoint.  They still have a week on the shelf before I can try one. 

I used Lillian’s “Best of Show Dill Spears” recipe!

The only thing I did different was to add 1/2 clove of garlic and 1 red pepper to two of the jars. 

 Photobucket

In other news–Mark found a pair of lawn aerator sandles at a thrift shop and is trying them out tonight.  I cannot stop laughing at him.  He looks like a toy soldier as he lifts his knees up high while walking.  It’s a good thing I like nerdy men. 🙂  Especially men who like to mow the lawn.

Photobucket

13 thoughts on “Millions of Peaches, Peaches for Me

  1. Your great pictures brought back so many memories of canning. You’re so lucky to be able to enjoy your peaches through the winter – frozen or canned, they’re going to be delicious.

    Lillian

  2. Those canned peaches look AMAZING!!! Makes me want to go out and buy peaches. You may have inspired me. First I need to get off this computer though.

    Did you read Animal, Mineral, Miracle? Or the 100 Mile book? What inspired the eating local challenge?

  3. LILLIAN: I can hardly wait to try the pickles I made from your recipe! The waiting is killing me.
    I just love peaches too. Thanks for your inspiration.

    MONICA: are you peeking over my shoulder? I’m in the middle of reading, “Plenty” by the same authors of “The 100-Mile Diet”!
    I’m not ready to commit myself as much as some people have, but I am going to be more aware and make some serious changes.

  4. Yum! I am now almost exclusively locatarian! It’s taken us 13 months and I do cheat on somethings (chips, sodas for a household of teenagers.) BTW: I don’t think I’ve told you this: I’ve been buying fresh, locally caught salmon and halibut and stopped purchasing all fresh/frozen. (Have you been able to get into the new PCC? Everytime I go it’s mobbed.)

  5. MLP: I went to PCC yesterday–wow! it was packed!
    I can’t stand frozen fish. Once in a while I’ll buy it when I’m desperate, but I am not a huge lover of seafood, so I have to buy it as fresh as possible to avoid any fishy taste at all.

    No, you didn’t tell me you are strictly locatarian(I’ve never even heard of that term), and speaking of sody pop, have you heard of Zevia? I never liked pop, but I tried this at a party this summer and I like to drink it with popcorn (I’m addicted to popcorn).

    We should meet at PCC and I’ll make sure nobody mobs you–I’ll beat them off with an organic carrot or something 😉

  6. Yes…I have a Mark! LOL I guess we should form some sort of club?! hehe:)

    Nerd? Absolutely…I forgot to mention that my Mark is in charge of the lawn mowing & he too would probably enjoy stomping about in those lawn aerator shoes!! hahaha…

  7. JULIA: YAY! You’re like one of us 🙂

    WEEZY: Ya know, after I chilled one jar in the fridge, I liked them better. Maybe it was just shock and trauma from canning all day LOL

  8. Hey there! It’s been a busy few days – my first chance to get on the computer. I love the idea of you trying to cook locally. I’m very intrigued by that. There’s a book I’m trying to get my hands on that I believe was written in Vancouver by a couple who decided to only eat foods that came within a certain amount of miles/km from their home and the rewards and challenges it brought.

    I had the opportunity to get a whole bunch of peaches from the Okanagan but had to pass as these past two weeks have been too busy and I was afraid they’d go bad.

    I was happy to live my peaches vicarioulsy through you 🙂

  9. MAVEN: I’m reading that book right now!
    Hope all is well. Busy is good right?

    JENNY: Let’s hear it for nerdy men! (You know, I’ll bet our partners think we’re the nerds).

Leave a Reply

