Chocolate Zucchini Cake w/ Almond Glaze

Does your kitchen counter still look like mine?  (If you think this is bad, you should see how many more I have out on the vines!) 

 Photobucket

If so, I have a great recipe to share with you.  I posted a chocolate zucchini bread a while back, but I decided to change it up and make it more like a cake.

Photobucket

CAKE INGREDIENTS:

2 (1 ounce) squares unsweetened

chocolate

3 eggs

2 cups white sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

2 cups grated zucchini

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 tsp almond extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon (or less)

3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Lightly grease and line two 9×5 inch loaf pans with parchment paper

Melt chocolate in microwave safe bowl until melted–be careful not to overheat–stir

occasionally till melted

Combine eggs, sugar, oil, grated zucchini, vanilla, almond extract, and melted

 chocolate.  beat well.

Stir in flour, soda, salt, and cinnamon.  Fold in chocolate chips and pour into loaf pans.

Bake 60-70 minutes or until toothpick stuck in center of loaf comes out clean. 

GLAZE:

powdered sugar

vanilla

almond extract

milk

Add enough milk (a tablespoon at a time) to a few cups powdered sugar to make a glaze

consistancy.  Add about 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 tsp almond extract–or to taste. 

Whisk well and pour over top of cakes.

 

15 thoughts on “Chocolate Zucchini Cake w/ Almond Glaze

  1. Oh YUMM!

    I will try this one for sire!

    BTW – I finally made you accidental pie over the weekend and ANGELNINA! It was award winning. We ate every last crumb. Thanks for that. It will be a summer staple around here.

  2. Look at that Harvest! My garden has shrivelled away in the Florida heat. I picked the last of my Red Peppers a couple weeks ago. The only Fall planting I did was pumpkins but some kind of animal ate them…the kids were devastated! It’s too late for pumpkins now but I think I still have time to plant since we won’t get a frost until Jan/Feb.
    Awesome cake! I’ll have to remember that one to sneak some veggies to the kids 🙂
    ~Patricia

  3. Oh, I’m so sorry something ate your pumpkins 😦 I have small sugar pie pumpkins and they’re ready to pick, but they sure don’t give a lot of pumpkin puree. I’ll see how far I get.

    Your peppers are probably amazing there in Florida compared to my few that managed to make it in this cooler northwest weather.

    After I took the photo of the zucchini, my husband came in and asked what I was going to do with all the squash out in the garage on the washing machine! I had completely forgotten I had 5 more zucchinis! I need to get busy.

    Today I have company, so I’m taking a break from garden harvesting. I’m ready for winter.

    I wish I could share these zucchinis with you and your little ones.

  4. That picture looks exactly like my country kitchen years ago. Now, I have to buy zucchini which kills me when I used to have so much, but it will be worth it to try out that cake!
    Lillian

  5. LILLIAN: It’s worth the price of zucchini ha! I wish I could give you a few from my stash 🙂
    Your pickles are DIVINE!

    KIM: Those are patty pan squash and they can be stuffed and baked or sliced and cook just like summer squash. I like them because they look like aliens 😉

  6. I clicked on Weeknight Crockpot Green Chili dinner and it put me on this recipe for “chocolate zucchini cake”, what’s with that?
    I am not good at this commenting stuff! I am a newbie…..
    What am I doing wrong????
    Your sis,
    Karla

  7. Ooooo yum! This sounds like a perfect way to use up all that shredded zucchini I have in the fridge! Now I must buy chocolate…

Leave a Reply

