Homemade Yogurt –Better Tasting and Better Health!

Strawberry Jam and Pecan Yogurt

Strawberry Jam and Pecan Yogurt

I used to have an aversion to yogurt.  I found many brands to be either too sour or too sweet.
Homemade yogurt, however, allows me to add my own flavoring and sweetness to suit my taste.
I use Organic milk and (usually) organic yogurt.  I couldn’t find organic yogurt for this particular batch.
I will be shopping at our new local PCC for the organic plain yogurt with live cultures for my next batch.   If money is an issue when buying organic, let me assure you, buying yogurt in separate small containers are still more costly than the yogurt you make at home, and usually they have a lot of unhealthy ingredients.  I made 6 cups of yogurt at a cost of 25 cents each.  Cost is less after you make your first batch because you take a few tablespoons from one of your homemade yogurts and no longer need to buy yogurt . 
I add my own strawberry preserves, pecans, honey, maple syrup, etc.  But these are very small amounts, and I make my own preserves, so it’s all good.
Yogurt with Honey

Yogurt with Honey

 The texture of this yogurt is much smoother than store brands that may add gelatin and other fillers.

My yogurt is 4 cups of whole milk and 2Tbsp plain yogurt.

4 cups of milk

Photobucket

Heat it up to about 185 degrees

Photobucket

Yogurt with Live Cultures

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Yogurt Maker

 My understanding is that you do not need a machine to make yogurt.  However, the ease of use makes it more likely that I will continue making it.  I basically heat the milk, cook it down a little, add yogurt, stir, and place it in my yogurt maker.

I scored the Donvier  above–unopened–at a thrift store.  Check out Craig’s List or Ebay.  So many people receive these for gifts and never use them.

The well-known health benefits of eating yogurt are the following:
• Enhanced lactose digestion,
• Prevention/treatment of acute rotavirus and antibiotic-induced diarrheas,
• Stimulation of intestinal immunity,
• Stabilization of Crohn’s disease,
• Improving the balance of microbial population in the intestines,
• Activity against Helicobacter Pylori,
• Improved immunity to disease,
• Inhibiting the growth of harmful bacteria. Yogurt’s fermenting agents produce some bacteriocins which, combined with their acidity, prove beneficial for the intestinal flora,
• Improving intestinal transit.

 Yogurt also provides calcium, and some studies have shown it enhances your immune system and helps fight off pneumonia.  If you’re one of those people who are prone to illness, you might consider adding live cultured yogurt to your diet.

I’ve been eating one everyday.  Mmm, they’re so good!

Learn more aboout the benefits here.

A recipe:

Greek Cucumber and Yogurt Dip with Dill

Indian Yogurt Chicken

Salmon Cakes with Salmon Yogurt sauce

 

6 thoughts on “Homemade Yogurt –Better Tasting and Better Health!

  1. That looks amazing. Now I’m going to be on the lookout for a yogurt maker.

    Was thinking about you tonight. The PB has another bad reaction to dairy. I’m wondering if homemade yogurt might be good for him.

    The cookie recipe loos beautiful as well.

  2. Pingback: Super Easy Granola on a Rainy/ Romantic Seattle Day « Angelnina’s Cottage

  3. I have been wanting to make yogurt for some time now;
    I even have a yogurt machine (collecting dust).
    You’ve made it seem simple enough that I’ll be giving it a try.
    thanks.

Leave a Reply

