Italian Almond/Amaretto (or Anisette) Cookies w/ Icing

I’ve been pretty busy this week, but I made time to squeeze in a batch of cookies.  These are almost like little cakes.

Italian Cookies YAY!

These have become one of my very favorite cookies!

Italian Almond Cookies w/ Icing and Sprinkles

Cookie

½ cup butter, softened

½ cup sugar

3 large eggs

2 tsp almond extract

2 ½ cups all-purpose flour

1 Tbsp baking powder

2-3 Tbsp milk

ICING

2 cups confectioner’s sugar

3 Tbsp milk

1/2 tsp almond extract

Sprinkles

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or non-stick liners

For Cookies:

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes.

Add eggs one at a time, mixing after each addition. Add almond extract.

Blend flour and baking powder. Start by adding a third of the dry ingredients to the butter/sugar mixture, then add 1 Tbsp milk. Add another third of the flour mixture and another tablespoon of milk.. Finally, mix in enough of the remaining flour mixture until your dough is like a brownie batter (it should be softer than a drop cookie dough).

Use a small cookie scooper to make simple round drop cookies–use wet fingers to pat any rough edges.

Bake cookies 10-12 minutes–they won’t be brown but the insides will be soft and cake like.

For Icing:

Mix sugar, milk and extract to make a sugar glaze. Hold cookie in your hand and paint with finger–cover entire cookie with glaze and sit on a baking rack with wax paper underneath to catch any drippings. Immediately top with sprinkles before glaze dries.

Allow icing to harden overnight; then store in air tight containers or freeze.

These freeze well!

NOTES:  You can use anisette instead of almond extract in these cookies.  Substitute the almond extract to anisette extract in the cookie, and cut the amount of anisette to 1/8- 1/4 tsp. anisette flavoring in the glaze

37 thoughts on “Italian Almond/Amaretto (or Anisette) Cookies w/ Icing

  1. Beautiful. Hand them over!!, lol

    Your cookies look prettier and tastier than any cookies I see in a bakery. I would get in trouble with these as you would be making SEVERAL batches. lol

    They would not make it to the freezer, lol. Did any make it to your freezer?

  2. Thank you! I had fun making these and they really are just like the cookies back in the bakeries of upstate NY that I used to devour.

    I made 24 and a dozen made it to the freezer, but I’ve discovered Mark takes them in his lunch frozen to thaw before noon. SO, when I went to take some out for company I nearly had a melt down. 🙂 Next time I think I’ll double the recipe.

    I have to hold myself back from eating too many. I’m a major cookie lover.

    Nice to hear from you!

  3. These are fantastic looking and I’m sure they taste terrific. My whole family loves these, but I usually only make them once a year, for the same reason as you, to hold us back from eating them! Nice blog Angelnina!

  4. Wow, these are so much like my grandmas! These were and are very special cookies because they only come at at Christmas time in our family so they are always a wonderful treat when they do. Anisette cookies are such a classic! I have my families recipe for these wonderful cookies on my Italian recipe website located here.

    Anthony’s Anisette Cookie Recipe

    EnJoY!

  5. Wow..your angel cookies are perfect. My Mom made them every Christmas for over 55 years. She passed the receipe down to my wife and daughter,thru demonstration.
    Everyone in our family anxiously awaits them. My daughter just gave me 4 doz. so I can box them as thank yous to the delivery people who service my business.

    My Mom regularly reminded us “….a little more annisette!”

  6. Fantastic cookies! I am not a baker and you make me look like a seasoned sicilian cookie maker! I made these 2 days ago with my 3 year old and he ate 6 rather large cookies without frosting! That’s a good cookie. I always cooked with my grandmother and helped her frost the traditional cookies but I focused on the cooking (sauce, broc & spinach pies, etc). She died last December 21st and my mother soon followed her this April. Well you made made two Italian angels very happy now that their girl can make a traditional cookie! Thank you!!! Happy and safe holidays to you and your family.

  7. I just made these and have to say their wonderful!!! The cookie it’s self isn’t to sweet so if you like your cookies sweet make sure to ice them top and sides…

  8. These look like the ones my Grandmother used to bake & now I bake. The only difference is mine calls for ricotta cheese. It makes a much larger batch about 70 cookies.

  9. ThANK YOU…THANK YOU….THANK YOU….THE BEST ITALIAN COOKIE RECIPE I HAVE EVER USED!!!!!!!!! I lost my families recipe and have not baked these cookies in 10 years! This is the one I lost….I will be sure to pass it around…Merry Christmas!!!!!! Thank you for sharing 🙂

  10. I tried your recipe last night and they came out perfect. I have been wanting to make these italian cookies for so long and when I saw this recipe, i decided to give it a try. Im so glad I did. My husband love and my daughter loved them. Thank you so much!

  11. I have made these cookies twice ! This is the best recipe I have ever used to make these cookies. Thank you so much………..a keeper for sure

  12. I just finished making these cookies with almond extract and they came out perfect!! Easy to make! I didn’t have a smaller scoop so I just used a teaspoon and rolled the dough off the end. Baked exactly 10 min and perfect each time! I will be making these again before the holiday!

  13. I have been making my mother in laws recipe for 50 years, decided to try yours and bingo they are fantastic. My daughter also tried them and can,t believe the differance. Thank you.

  14. I am going to make these for a St. Joseph’s Altar tomorrow at church; I was wondering, though… may I substitute my homemade amaretto for the almond extract and have the same results? Thanks!

    • I’m not sure Millie. You might add a little of each to make sure the almond flavor comes through. You’ve piqued my curiosity, so please let me know what you end up using and how they taste. Good luck!

  15. Made these tonight to add to my Christmas tray. easy to make. Thank you for the detailed instructions.That really helps.
    They are delicious & look so nice. Let’s see what the Italian relatives say!
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

