Apple Cider Glazed Pork Chops

 Photobucket

 Alrighty then, I’m just going to say it outright from the get -go…I was never a lover of the pork chop.

Why?  Because unless they’re breaded and southern fried in loads of butter and oil, they’re just too darn dry for my taste.

Needless to say, it was with a bit of trepidation that I decided to cook the following recipe.  Sure, I’ve tried the brining and rubs and so on, but I still wasn’t convinced I could create a tasty pork chop.  I’ve been to some perty fancy restaurants in my life, and my partner loves him a good pork chop.  Every time he orders a pork chop he assumes this is the one recipe I’ll fall in love with,

“Come on, just try a bite!”,

and then I’ll make pork chops for dinner every night and he’ll live happily ever after.  

I’ve never tasted a pork chop–not even the $50 pork chop Mark ordered at a 4 star restaurant in Lake Louise— that didn’t leave me chewing a bit longer than I cared to.

Throwing caution to the wind, I opened up my new cookbook, and got started.

I will admit—and y’all know I’ve admitted I’m a picky pork chop eatin’ kinda gal— that although this wasn’t a melt in your mouth southern fried pork chop, it was pretty darn close! I was surprised.

It does require a bit more time than dusting in flour, soaking in melted butter, and frying in oil.

Okay, it requires a lot more time. But, if you’re a pork chop lover, this is your pork chop dinner.

You really must serve this with garlic mashed potatoes, and why not bake a few apples with real maple syrup and pecans for dessert?  Better yet?  Apple Cider Ice Cream–which is recommended in this wonderful cookbook,

“Cooking Class”, by Carol Dearth.  Check out the excellent reviews on Amazon.

 Click below for the recipe and more photos…

 

APPLE CIDER GLAZED PORK CHOPS

 

For Brine:

Gallon size resealable plastic bag

½ c lightly packed brown sugar

1/3 c Kosher salt (yes, it HAS to be Kosher)

2 medium cloves garlic minced

1 Tbsp freshly ground black pepper

 

4 Thick cut pork chops about 5 oz each.

1-2 Tbsp vegetable oil for frying

For Glaze:

4 shallots, thinly sliced

1 Tbsp olive oil

½ tsp salt

1 cup apple cider ( I used spiced because I had it)

1 cup white wine (like Chardonnay)

1 tsp fresh rosemary , chopped

¼ tsp dried thyme ( I used ½ tsp fresh)

½ tsp dried oregano ( I used a little over a tsp fresh)

½ tsp hot pepper sauce

1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar

½ tsp arrowroot OR 1/2 tsp cornstarch

1 Tbsp white wine

Ssalt to taste

2 Tbsp Calvados

Thin slices of apple

2 Tbsp pure maple syrup (opt)

 

BRINE: Dissolve sugar and salt into one cup of hot water.

Pour into plastic bag with garlic and pepper (I set mine in a pan/bowl), adding an additional 3 cups of cold water.

Add pork chops to brine. Seal the bag., pressing out as much air as possible.

Brine in solution for one hour.

Meanwhile:

Begin preparing glaze.

Carmelize shallots VERY SLOWLY in olive oil with a pinch of salt, about 15 minutes.

Add apple juice, cup of wine, half of rosemary, thyme, oregano, hot pepper sauce, and vinegar. Over high heat, reduce to ½ a cup. Make slurry by mixing arrowroot or cornstarch and tablespoon of wine in a small bowl. Add this mixture to the sauce mixture, bring to a boil, to thicken slightly, then remove from heat. Correct seasonings. Set aside.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place in the oven to preheat, a shallow pan large enough to hold the chops in a single layer. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium high heat. Saute chops in skillet about 2 minutes per side, until crust forms. Brush presentation or top side with maple syrup. Transfer chops to heated pan in pre-heated oven, roast to internal temperature of 125-127 degrees F.

While chops are roasting, deglaze pork chop pan by adding the glaze mixture to the drippings in the pan; heat to boil. Stir in Calvados if desired, place apple slices and remaining rosemary in glaze just to heat through. Remove chops from oven, cover with foil. Let rest until internal temperature reaches about 145 degrees F, about 5 minutes. Serve on heated plates, topped with glaze. Garnish with apple slices and fresh rosemary, if desired.

Serves 4

 

Photobucket

ABOVE: Brine
Photobucket

 

 

 

ABOVE: A few of the ingredients

Photobucket

Carmelize the shallots

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

ABOVE: Slurry

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

6 thoughts on “Apple Cider Glazed Pork Chops

  1. I’m definitely going to be trying this recipe as soon as I can get the ingredients together – and I’ll be taking your suggestion of baked apple and garlic mashed potatoes to round out the meal. It sounds and looks so delicious.
    Lillian

  2. Please let me know what you think of them. I’m home cooking again today. I have butternut squash apple soup on the stove, and the whole house smells like fall 🙂

    I’ve been eating baked apples more often than usual. I just love them.

  3. Oh, yum. I’m so glad that I stumbled over here to visit. Those pork chops look just fabulous.

    Am also interested in the potato/apple combo… will have to experiment with that.

  4. Hi there – Just yesterday I was thinking that I hadn’t seen you on myspace in a while. I logged in this morning and there you were. This pork chop recipe looks wonderful. I’m gonna have to try it. As always, your photos are top notch!

Leave a Reply

