Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

This is the first year I grew tomatillos.   I didn’t know what to expect, and just one plant went really wild, filling a quarter of my raised bed by the time it reached its peak.  It seemed as though they were never going to get large enough to harvest, but in the end, we picked all of them and ended up with about 3 1/2 lbs tomatillos.

This recipe is adapted from Gourmet Magazine’s November 1999 issue.

Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

3 pounds fresh tomatillos

3 fresh jalapenos (If you don’t like it hot remove the seeds and inner white part)

3-4 large cloves garlic, unpeeled

1/2 large onion, coarsely chopped (more if you like onion)

2-3 tsp coarse salt

1/2 cup fresh cilantro  *OPTIONAL* I have an aversion to cilantro and never add it in a recipe, but if you like cilantro, go for it!

Preheat broiler.

Remove tomatillo husks and rinse under warm water to remove the stickiness.

Broil chiles, garlic, and fresh tomatillos on top rack of oven on baking sheet or on broiler pan on rack.

Turn once until slightly charred about 7 or more minutes. Watch closely.

Peel garlic, pull off tops of chiles.  Puree all ingredients in a blender or food processor.

Salsa can be made one day ahead and chilled, covered.

You may cut the recipe in half, use serrano chilis, or more jalapenos of you’d like.  I froze most of ours and I’m hoping it will keep well.  If you like green sauce, you will love this.  We really love it on chcken enchiladas or just as a salsa with corn chips.

Photobucket

Photobucket

12 thoughts on “Roasted Tomatillo Salsa

  1. Hi again Angelnina,

    I was stunned to find your lovely tomatillo post. I just made this same salsa last week and I have my last load of tomatillos in a bowl waiting for tomorrow. I first planted tomatillos 2 years ago, and as my good pal Barbara says, “Once you plant tomatillos you always have tomatillos.” The first year I didn’t know what to do with them and I gave them all away to a Hispanic friend of mine. The next year I discovered this recipe .. WOW! I really love it on fried or poached eggs at breakfast time. This year I had tomatillos popping up everywhere, even in the cracks of my brick patio. They seem to thrive wherever they grow.

    I also HATED cilantro until very recently. Now I really love it. I never thought that would happen and I associate it with the many changes related to menopause (I am 10 years older than you).

    It would be fun to meet some day. I live in Bellevue. Yes, Bellevue allows chickens and even roosters in city limits … I have four and one respectively. It seems that we have loads in common.

    My husband and I are recent empty nesters, having just sent our youngest off to Reed College in Portland. Never-the-less I have plenty of company since my kids left their pets here when they left home. I still have the chickens, the rooster, the border collie, the bunny, but I recently managed to adopt out the tarantula and the finches. I also have lots of family in the area. My husband grew up here and his mom still lives 2 blocks away. My parents and sister and her family followed me here from Wisconsin several years ago!! Lucky me!

    XOXO Leigh

  2. Hey!

    I’m still out of town. Somehow these kinds of blogs from friends make me feel more connected to home. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted a tomatillo and am quite interested in learning more. I do love green sauce but have only really ever had it while visiting you.

    Would you recommend me trying to grow this next year? It looks so beautiful!

  3. LEIGH:
    WOW! If you’re making tomatillo salsa, we really do need to get together.
    I can’t believe Bellevue allows chickens. I’m in unincorportated Snohomish Cty and Lynnwood is annexing our area (OH NO!) and they do not allow chickens. They told us we’d be grandfathered in. I can’t believe Lynnwood hasn’t jumped on the “green” wagon yet. I mean, as you know, chickens are so good for everything.
    My family followed me here too, but my mother is the only one who survived Seattle.
    We should get together. I love learning from garden lovers. HUGS back atcha!

    MAVEN: Are you enjoying your trip?
    I think they are easy to grow. Mine did take over the garden a bit. Sean grew some in a pot and thinks they are better in the ground.
    The salsa is great on chicken enchiladas and homemade corn tortilla chips.
    When will you be back home?

  4. You made the tomatillos look very good. Is that what they put in green chilles? I would not like it hot so I would leave out the jalapenos.

  5. tomatillo sauce is awesome on Carnitas! (slow roasted pork).. with corn tortillas! YUM.

    Cilantro is an acquired taste. Used to hate it.. now I love it!

  6. WEEZY: Thanks for helping me out today. AND thanks for the sandwich 🙂

    KIM: I’ve heard that some people have a gene that makes cilantro taste like soap. To me, it tastes like cleanser. I’ve tried it multiple times and cannot adjust the strong taste. It overtakes anything I put it on–or find it in…even a little. Yet, it cannot taste that way to 50% of the population who love it. Do you know there is even a web site titled “I Hate Cilantro” pretty funny. I hope hope hope, one day it will change.
    Do you grow tomatillos?

  7. no I have never grown tomatillos… I never even thought to! Do they grow like tomatoes?

    I have never heard of the soap tasting thing… how awful! isn’t it funny how something that can taste so delicious, can also taste so funny to someone else? My husband can’t stand tomatoes! I can’t even figure that out.. they are so yummy. I am glad I like just about everything. .. except liver… and bugs. 🙂

  8. I know you posted this almost two years ago, but this recipe comes as a life saver. My CSA keeps giving us tons of tomatillos and I’m drowning in them!

Leave a Reply

