Carrot Cake w/ Cream Cheese Frosting

Life has been chaotic:

I still don’t know why I have vertigo.

My mother has been hospitalized.

I’m preparing for the holidays.

My minivan died (it was a peaceful death, and she lived a great life!)

 

 I made this last month for my girlfriend’s birthday. 
Photobucket

The cake is a winner.

I made the carrots out of almond paste.  I colored the paste with orange and green food coloring, and shaped it into carrots.

Carrot Cake

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 2 cups finely grated carrots (about 3 to 4 medium carrots)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 can (8 ounces) well drained crushed pineapple
  • 1 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans, divided
  • In a mixing bowl, combine dry ingredients; stir to blend. Add eggs, oil, shredded carrots, and vanilla; beat until well blended. Stir in pineapple, coconut, and 1/2 cup of the walnuts. Pour into a greased and floured 13x9x2-inch baking pan. Bake at 350° for 50 to 60 minutes, or until a wooden pick or cake tester inserted in center comes out clean. Place cake in pan on a rack to cool. Frost the cooled cake with Cream Cheese Frosting and sprinkle with remaining chopped nuts, pressing into the frosting very lightly.

    Frosting
    4 cups powdered sugar
    2 8-ounce packages cream cheese, room temperature
    1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
    4 teaspoons vanilla extract

     

    Using electric mixer, beat all ingredients in medium bowl until smooth and creamy.

    Place 1 cake layer on platter. Spread with 3/4 cup frosting. Top with another cake layer. Spread with 3/4 cup frosting. Top with remaining cake layer. Using icing spatula, spread remaining frosting in decorative swirls over sides and top of cake. (Can be prepared 2 days ahead. Cover with cake dome and refrigerate.) Serve cake cold or at room temperature.

    I found the cake recipe at Southern Recipes, and the cream cheese frosting is from Epicurious.com

    The pineapple and coconut make this cake extra moist and yummy.

    I MISS BLOGGING.  I have so many things to share.  I’m going to try to write a bit and get myself back on track. 

    7 thoughts on “Carrot Cake w/ Cream Cheese Frosting

    1. It is good to be missed. I feel like life has been on hold a bit.
      My mother has struggled with depression for a long time. I’m hoping this will help her. She deserves to be happy in her golden years. It’s a tough time for our family because we’d like her home on the holiday.
      I just sent an email.

    2. the cake looks perfect! so pretty… and it’s making me hungry. Sometimes writing makes everything better. 🙂 So good to hear from you on here!
      Happy Thanksgiving! Are you hosting the feast this year?

    3. Thank you!
      Hopefully, I’ll be able to get my Thanksgiving Dinner going. It may only be the “kids” this year. I’d like to have some family time with them. Not sure if I’ll cook the volume of food I normally do.
      Happy Thanksgiving to you too! Are you doing the cooking this year?

    4. I am baking a ham tonight… I cooked a turkey at the cabin and I’ll probably be cooking another turkey after the holiday.. when they go on sale.. so although I am not cooking on TG.. I’ll make up for it otherwise. 🙂 Husband’s working tg so I am laying low and having a “me” day. … a small get-together with the kids, sounds like the best idea ever! 🙂

    5. So sorry about your mom. Hope she’s doing better. That cake is gorgeous! I adore the little carrots you fashioned from almond paste. How clever!

    6. I am sorry about your mother, and about your own health concerns. You have been dealing with a lot lately, and I have no doubt your inner strength and beauty will carry you forward.

      And just look at you! You made a cake for a friend, despite all you are going through. You amaze me. You are such a wonderful person!

    Leave a Reply

    