A Quiet Thanksgiving

Photobucket

ABOVE: Everett Marina–Thanksgiving in the Northwest.

It’s been a while since I’ve updated.

I finally found out what has been causing my blurred vision and dizziness.   My ENG results shows I have a vestibular  disorder.   My doctor tells me there is an 85% chance it can be treated with physical therapy!  I start PT next Wednesday. I’m very happy.    As some of you know, the red flag was waving toward multiple sclerosis, so I’m quite relieved that the mystery of the disequalibrium has been solved.

Thanksgiving dinner went off without a hitch.  I served the same foods I’ve served for many years.

Thanksgiving was nice and quiet here at my home.  Mark, Sean, Olivia, and I shared a great dinner together.   Step-Dad dropped by for dinner–it was nice to see him too.

After dinner, the four of us played, “Who Wants to Be a Millionaire”.  Sean won the million.

Photobucket

Cornbread stuffing is our favorite.

Photobucket

Olivia is always very helpful.

Photobucket

Sean was miserable with a cold.   😦

Oddly enough, the men in my house often look like this after they stuff themselves with Thanksgiving Dinner.

Photobucket

Egg noodles in turkey giblet broth is a tradition.   Grandma Vi always made them.  I love the noodles on the plate with turkey, gravy, and cornbread dressing.

Photobucket

I changed my apple pie crust this year.  I used “The Pie and Pastry Bible”  Basic Flaky Pie Crust recipe.

Sean missed my regular crust.  The one I normally use calls for shortening.  I think I’ll go back to it for special occasion pies.  You can find the “Old Fashioned Pie Crust Recipe” here.

Of course I also served the usual: roasted brussels sprouts, cornmeal fried okra, lime jello salad, cranberry sauce, gravy, mashed potatoes (thanks kids!), sweet potato pecan apple yam casserole, pumpkin pie, and butter rolls.

Normally I bake many more pies and serve a few more veggies, but this year I didn’t have a lot of energy.

I haven’t started my Christmas cookies yet.  I’m excited to start baking!

Over the holiday weekend, I taught Olivia how to make molded chocolate candies.  It was a lot of fun.

I’ll share our candies in my next post.

Mother Teresa Mother Theresa hung this in her office:

“People are unreasonable, illogical, and self-centered. Love them anyway. If you do good, people may accuse you of selfish motives. Do good anyway. If you are successful, you may win false friends and true enemies. Succeed anyway. The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway. Honesty and transparency make you vulnerable. Be honest and transparent anyway. What you spend years building may be destroyed overnight. Build anyway. People who really want help may attack you if you help them. Help them anyway. Give the world the best you have and you may get hurt. Give the world your best anyway.”
—  Kent M Keith

A few past Thanksgiving Posts:

Thanksgiving 2006

Thanksgiving 2007

3 thoughts on “A Quiet Thanksgiving

  1. I remember you talking way way back about doing noodles with the giblet broth. They look very good, as does your entire meal. The turkey is roasted to perfection!

    I am so relieved for you that it isn’t MS.

  2. Thanks, Mave. I’m extremely relieved, and I’m ready to get rid of this problem. Doc said I may have had this since childhood. Often times it takes years before the blurry dizzies set in. It has caused several other related issues–like flying anxiety and muscle problems (trying to balance). I am hoping flying will become less of an issue now. Sean and Olivia are planning on graduate school out of state, and I have to be able to fly.
    Mark did the turkey this year. We have a special routine–found in “Cooking with Gravy”–that makes it nice and brown.
    I can hardly to wait to start on the cookies for Christmas!

  3. your dinner looks delicious!.. naturally. Poor Sean! … 🙂 though I am so glad to hear that you’ve gotten a real diagnosis! … and it’s sounds like it’s not going to be too bad. .. that’s just wonderful news. Merry Christmas… even if it’s not quite Christmas yet.
    I want to start baking cookies too.

Leave a Reply

