UPDATED w/ RECIPES~Molded Chocolate Candy Making~

Photobucket

ABOVE: Olivia left with a box of goodies.   The cookies in the cupcake papers are made from Ritz crackers dipped in peppermint oil flavored chocolate.  These taste very similar to Mint Girl Scout Cookies–the salt makes them even better.  The peppermint patties are wrapped in the green tin foil.  The little hollies are made from colored white chocolates.

My sister, Karla, was always the craft queen in my family.   She knew where all of the best classes were offered.   As  a young mother, I was always looking for ways to save money on Christmas gifts.   Baking cookies was usually the answer.  When my sister asked if I’d like to take a chocolate candy making class, I couldn’t throw my coat on and run out the door fast enough.  I mean, who says no to chocolate?  I knew cookies with chocolates would make a more special gift.

I was amazed at how easy, yet admittedly time consuming, it is to make these little filled chocolates.

I started packing up cookies and molded filled chocolates to send to all of Mark’s siblings and his parents.  No small feat, considering Mark comes from a family of nine.

It was always fun to experiment with various molds for different holidays.  My all time favorites are chocolate liqueur cups filled with Peppermint Schnapps.  I’m hoping to make those for Christmas Eve.

When Olivia asked if I’d teach her how to make these chocolates, it reignited the fond memories of spending hours at the table melting, mixing, and molding chocolates.

Olivia and I decided to make cherry cordials, peanut butter cups, Almond Joys, coconut filled bars (Mounds), peppermint patties, raspberry creams, butter nut cream, dipped pretzels, and chocolate mint cookies.

Our list of supplies included:
4 lbs Guittard chocolate (for melting)–3 milk chocolate and 1 dark

3 lb Guittard white chocolate–white, red, and green

2 lbs fondant to make peanut butter filling and peppermint patty filling.

coconut, almonds, pecans, maraschino cherries, powdered sugar, karo syrup, mini pretzels, Ritz crackers (make an excellent salty cookie base),peanut butter, butter

candy molds- we bought two.  I already had an assortment

foil wrappers, candy holders, wax paper, paint brushes, plastic squeeze bottles

We shopped for the supplies and started our chocolates on Saturday, and then we made a second batch on Sunday.

Photobucket

Olivia making cherry cordials.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Placing peanut butter cups in their tin papers.

Photobucket

ABOVE: Almond Joys–my favorite.

I like to make little wreaths out of the white chocolate dipped pretzels.  As soon as I can find some red string licorice,  I’ll post a few photos.

These candies, placed in lovely tins or candy boxes, make a beautiful and affordable gift for family, co-workers, and friends.

I really enjoyed doing this project with Olivia.  It was a wonderful gal bonding time.   For many years, I did projects  like this alone.  It was fun to have another female in the kitchen!

NOTE TO OLIVIA:  Are you ready for Valentine’s Day chocolates?

UPDATED:

Peppermint patties

Mix approx. 1/3 c fondant (sifted powdered sugar might work) with 1 1/2 tsp water to form a thick paste.  ADd 3-4 drops of peppermint oil (I add more).  Spoon into coated patty mold and seal with chocolate.  Makes about 8 patties.

Coconut Filling (Almond Joy)

3/4 cup light cornsyrup

2 1/2 cups coconut

Heat corn syrup in small pan until quite hot, but not boiling.  Pour into a bowl containing coconut and stir thoroughly with a spoon.  Cover with wax paper and set aside for about an hour so the coconut will become well saturated with the syrup.

13 thoughts on “UPDATED w/ RECIPES~Molded Chocolate Candy Making~

  1. Sorry- I misunderstood. Thought you were working with Chocolate molds.

    My husband would adore the Almond Joy. My sister works at Columbia Candy Kitchen where they hand dip their almonds and candy. There is an art to it.
    The candy looks divine. We missed your blogs.

  2. I’m so happy you dropped in to take a peek!
    I did use plastic molds, but are you talking about the metal molds? Those are cool.
    I’d love to work in a candy shop 🙂

  3. We would totally love it. I’ll tell the girls and we can schedule a date for a party. I blessed the outside of the new house this evening. Danielle, Bandit and Kikkoman joined me. It makes me feel centered. Having the interior blessed at 10 tomorrow morning. Seriously, you are more than welcome to swing by and visit anytime tomorrow if you’d like. Most everything is there except the heavy furnishings which we’ll move down there tomorrow.

  4. This brings back so many memories! Before moving to WI 13 years ago, two close friends and I would get together and spend a whole day making candy before Christmas each year. We still talk about how much we miss doing that!
    I’m so glad you found out the reason for your dizziness! What a relief for you 🙂

  5. Those look fabulous!! I’ve made truffles, but consider candymaking outside my expertise (and patience level). Yummy!!

    Glad they finally figured out what was wrong with you!!

  6. My mother and I spent hours each Christmas making chocolate candy from molds. We also made chocolate covered nuts, peanut butter cups, and cherry cordials. It was great fun and I loved the way the candy had a pretty shine to it when they were all arranged on a plate!

  7. Oohh! Do you have a recipe for the almond joy chocolates? I LOVE almond joys! I always make candies and chocolates for the holidays, but I agree with you -its VERY time consuming! I always make chocolate truffle “snowmen” and chocolate covered cherry cordials (but I make them with the stem kind of cherry, and hand-form and dip them, instead of the candy mold kind.)

    I usually do these alone too, and am excited because Frank’s mom and I will be working on the desserts together this year, since we will be visiting them starting a few days before Christmas. Plenty of time for baking/dessert making. I think she will appreciate it too, since she usually does baking alone as well! (She never had a daughter, either!) 🙂

  8. MLP: These are so easy. I’m going to share a few recipes. I’ve been lousy at scheduling things due to all of the physical and occupational therapies I’m doing now–not to mention I’m without transportation for a bit–knock on wood. Maybe a few of the recipes I’m going to post can give you guys a head start. At least until I can walk upright 😉

    COLLEEN: I think it would be a lot of fun to have a party filled with women and make cookies and candies. I have a chocolate fountain perfect for the occasion. It may have to wait till next year. I’d love to hear about the kinds of candy you and your friend made.

    KIM: Did you make any chocolates yet?

    LAUREN: If you can make truffles, these would be a breeze! Although, you may not like how long it takes 🙂

    MAVeN: Are you going to be making candies?

    LILLIAN: I hope to one day be a Grandma just like you. I have a lot of work to do to catch up with your award winning recipes 🙂 Thanks.

    JOAN: yes, the shine is the best. I put mine in the freezer to set up, and that makes them the shiniest. I also like to make almond bark with both white and dark chocolates.

    VICTORIA: I’ve had a few requests for the recipes, so I’m going to share a few in my next blog. I’m hoping to post it tonight or tomorrow.
    Can we exchange recipes? I’d love to know how you make those snowman truffles!

Leave a Reply

