If We Make it Through December ~Happy Holidays~

Christmas will be here in just ten more days.  Due to the struggling economy, Mark and I have tightened our belts.  No huge ticket items this year.  We’re giving one another a book.  Simple.  Practical.

I won’t be having  my usual Christmas Eve gathering.  I will make a light dinner, and the kids will join us for the evening.  I want to keep the holidays stress free and affordable.

I have, however, decorated my home.

tree1

cookicount

..and I’ve made the cuccidatis!

figginger

I know people have lost their jobs.  Times are more than tough.  Work has slowed down for us too.

Eckhart Tolle’s,  “A New Earth” is the book I most recommend to people who are anxious right now.   “This too shall pass” has become my mantra.

During these difficult times, our ego tends to take hold of the reins and lead us straight into fear.  The ego would like us to make enemies out of our mates, friends, and relatives.

When I catch myself going into fear, I pull a journal or scrap piece of paper, and I start a gratitude list.  A sample of what I’ve written:

-I can breathe.

-I am surrounded by the people I love and the people who love me.

-I laugh.

-I have shelter, food, and all of my basic necessities.

-I am not suffering.

I’ve lived quite an unusual life.  I have survived situations most people assume are impossible to survive.   One of the cool things about growing up poor and having moved all over the country–in true hillbilly style– is that you learn how little people really need in order to survive.  You realize that story telling, music, and laughter are the true necessities of life.  Simple things make you happy.

Speaking of music, this song brings back memories of one of many Decembers in my childhood.

Wishing you a peace in the moment, and a life filled with stories, music, and laughter.

Happy Holidays.

17 thoughts on “If We Make it Through December ~Happy Holidays~

  1. I loved this.

    That is all.

    Your cookies.

    White tree.

    And you.

    Merry Christmas A – one of the great blessings of this year is having you back in my life.

    Nothing is the same without you 🙂

  2. I know it is a very hard time for a lot of people. Also in our country a lot of people have lost there jobs. But you are realy right. People need very much less of what they haver ever thought they need for life. The most importen thing in life is the family, good friends, laughter and health. And all these things you can´t buy.

    I wish you a cosy christmas with a lot of laughter and happy hours.

    LG
    Christiane

  3. Count it all joy when the outside world seems to be falling apart, for that means that your ego is in fact the thing that is being destroyed.

    The outside world does not exist, it is only a projection of our mind.

    Donnie B. Good
    Spring Green, WI

  4. Your Christmas sounds idyllic. I’m having a much leaner holiday season, trying to learn to live more frugally and how to enjoy doing so. I just had a major fiscal meltdown, and am trying to let it go and just trust that it will all work out.

    It will work out. That much I know.

    Wishing you much joy and happiness!

  5. I too had a childhood with very little. Back then I felt bad about it, but now I know it was a blessing. I know now, that I will be OK during these lean years ahead for everyone. We all should keep in mind to love people not things.The Lord will be with us always. Merry Christmas my dear friend and a blessed 2009! Peace to all!
    From my heart to yours, Suzanne

  6. Your tree is gorgeous. I have an icicle garland just like that! and a big red heart ornament given to my by my husband.. which I stuck smack dab in the middle of my tree… like it’s the tree’s heart. So glad you’re posting again. 🙂 I love your posts!

  7. MAVEN: You are just a sweetheart. I’m so happy you’re back in my life too. Hey! Isn’t that wood cut out cool? Nobody in the store knew what Woodward’s was except a Canadian lady!

    CHRISTIANE: I’m so happy I have friends like you–who really understand what I’m saying 🙂

    Donnie B Good: “I agree–count it all good”!

    LAUREN: I think most of us are recognizing the need to be frugal. Happy Hanukkah! (soon to be)

    SUZANNE: I agree 100%…LOVE PEOPLE NOT THINGS! Right on.

    KIM: YOu made me want to move my heart to the center of the tree 🙂 I found the white tree on clearance and I’ve enjoyed it since. I can’t remember where I found the icicle garland, but I think it really polishes the white tree. THANK YOU!

    WEEZY: Well, you know how it was…and we made it.:)

    SARAH: I’ve enjoyed the white tree. Here in the northwest the winter can be dark and dismal..the white and the lights brighten up the entire room. Thank you so much!

  8. The tree really brings out the french blue of your family room/rec room walls. Even in the worst of times I am so blessed. I’m looking forward to peace and joy this season!

  9. Thanks 🙂 Now that I have a car, I can come see your new place. Well, after the snow. I had to cancel two appts for PT and OT. Bummer.

    I think about you often. You’re awesome.

  10. I love your home and how you decorated for the holidays. Cheery and cozy.

    I haven’t written in my gratitude journal in so long, but it’s time to start up again. Tough times, but I to am grateful for so many things that have nothing to do with having or not having money.

    I hope you have an abundance of love this holiday season.

  11. Your decorations and tree are lovely. I enjoyed your blog… you’re my favorite blogger, btw.
    I am grateful for many things that are so much more important to me than materialistic gifts.
    I pondered as I read your blog aloud to my husband and you actually made me cry (thank you) because we’re in the situation of hard times and we don’t have much to give for Christmas, but there is so much to be grateful for and I do know I’m truly blessed.
    I absolutely love your photos you share…you’re a fantastic blogger!
    Happy Holidays!!!

  12. MELISSA: Thank you. I’ve been thinking about you and your chickens. I need to get over to LJ and read my favorite people again soon!

    DEB: Thank you so much, and I hope the same for you..starting with love from me to you!

    Cre8tiveJ: You’re very kind, thank you.
    I’m so sorry to hear you’re in hard times. I hope they pass quickly (“This too shall pass”), and that you are soon blessed with more abundance than you’ve ever had.
    When we are in hard times, I remind myself of all of the many times we’ve survived when we thought we’d end up homeless and hungry. I’m sending many positive thoughts to you.

Leave a Reply

