Snow Geese

It snowed here in the Seattle and surrounding areas.  I’m excited, but I’m also a bit worried about my hens getting too cold.  I can hear them outside announcing their eggs as I write this.  It’s 25 degrees right now, but the lows are expected to drop into the teens again this evening.  The girls have been regularly laying daily.  Five hens, five eggs a day.  I feel blessed to have them, and I’d like them to be as comfortable as possible–without getting too warm–as we go through our blustery weather.

In other news, I have started occupational therapy (OT) for my vestibular disorder.   I got sick after the first one.  OT says it is normal.  I have two more this week.  I just want to be on land soon.   All this motion has me feeling like I’ve been out at sea on a raft for the past six weeks.

I took a drive last month and found these beautiful snow geese on the side of the road.  They are just beautiful, and the pictures do not do them justice.  The white blanket of snow geese to go on and on as far as the eye can see.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

GI Joe, decided he was above the rules and shimmied out to take a closer shot.  He actually helped to create the following shots for me when he scared them into flight.

Photobucket


Photobucket

Photobucket

They filled the sky.  It was amazing.

8 thoughts on “Snow Geese

  1. You might want to hang a heat lamp in the coop at night. You can put it on a timer so it comes on at dusk and goes off at dawn – that way they won’t get too warm during the day. I used to do that in the city.

    In fact I just rigged one this morning for my girls in their big shack when I realized that their water was frozen solid yesterday in the daytime. I think I may rig them a second tonight as the space is pretty large (7’x17′).

    Good for you on the eggs – we’re only getting 2 a day from 16 hens!

  2. I’m so happy you told me this. I’ve been reading the chicken boards and there is so much debate over whether or not to add heat.

    Our coop is insulated and dry walled. The temperature inside the coop is 39 degrees with their little door open and a regular 75 watt light bulb. We do have a heat lamp bulb (used for the brooders) that we could add, but I’m thinking since the water isn’t freezing solid–some spots were available to drink from–that maybe they’re okay.
    Our coop is 4’x6′ and 6.5′ high. I’m thinking about the heat lamp tonight…just in case.
    I wonder why we’re still getting eggs? I was shocked to read you’re getting so few.

  3. Your birds are younger and you have a light, which helps for winter laying. I’ve got a whole mix of ages and most of my hens molted this fall (and a couple now – brrr). The only 3 laying are the 3 youngest. They’ll all start up again in early Feb or so.

    You might not need the heat lamp then. You only really need to keep it at 35+ or so since you don’t have banties. It’s below freezing in my hen house, or was last night – hence the lights until it warms up.

  4. Thanks for the info. We have the heat light out there now. Maybe we’ll turn it off before we go to bed. Hopefully, the insulation will hold in the heat it creates.

    Molting in this weather sounds painful.

    I’m sure it dropped below 35 in the coop last night. The temperature read 30 this morning before we turned on the light.

    It is supposed to drop into the teens tomorrow night. I wonder if the girls will give up on laying when it does? February is a long time to have to wait for fresh eggs. We eat so many eggs, we still have to buy a few from the market every now and then. I hope our cholesterol is still good 🙂

  5. Those pictures are beautiful. I’ve never seen snow geese.

    Since I read the comments in this post, I’m worried about my chickens at night. We don’t have electricity out there. One night the water froze, but it didn’t freeze last night because we put insulating stuff around it and it worked, it didn’t freeze this morning.

  6. What incredible photos! The snow geese are like nothing I’ve ever seen. Especially the last two with them in flight. Gorgeous.

    I wish I could find my camera (it’s been packed for 5 years now) and take pictures of the ducks in ice water, tail up. Just loads of them in the Lake and along some canals. Makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

