It’s a Snow Day! Let’s bake Italian cookies and visit the chickens.

Photobucket

We’re snowed in here in the great Pacific Northwest.   Since the Oldsmobile didn’t want to leave the house, I decided I’d tuck myself away and bake some Italian “Christmas” Cookies.  i found the recipe at All Recipes, and if you click here on Ravioli Dolci, you will be taken to the recipe.

I used my very own homemade Bing Cherry Almond Preserves.  I like the taste of the cherry and almond flavors together in this very buttery and tender cookie dough.

Photobucket

My vintage Frosty looks right at home on a blanket of snow furnished by, none other than, Mother Nature herself.

Although, I might add, since the photo was taken, she has gifted us with a few inches (and counting) more.

Photobucket

I’ve been worried about the chickens.   The weather has dipped down to 15 degrees here.   The girls just seem to shake it off and look up at the sky with an, “Is that all ya got?” look on their faces.  They are tough old birds!

Photobucket

I took this photo, the other day, while I was out checking for eggs.  Four and five eggs a day and they just keep’em comin’.

Pearl is the Golden Comet here in the front.  I told her that if she and her girlfriends needed to take a break from laying, I’d understand.    She didn’t say anything, but I knew from the look of disgust on her face that I had insulted her.

Two hours later I heard her announcing the eggs.   Sure enough, five eggs were sitting in the nest when I went out to check on them.

As I walked away from the coop,  I could have swore I heard her mumbling, under her breath—  something to do with the size of my backside and just how many breaks one woman needs to take in a day.

Pearl has a good heart, but she has no patience with women who don’t work as hard as she does.

Photobucket

My new table centerpiece because, as usual, it’s all about the chickens.

Photobucket

Goodnight Girls.

19 thoughts on “It’s a Snow Day! Let’s bake Italian cookies and visit the chickens.

  1. I love all of your posts and gorgeous pictures, but these seemed to be especially nice. I love Frosty and I love anything to do with your chickens. I’m also going to look up that Italian cookie recipe.
    Lillian

  2. LILLIAN: Thank you! Likewise, I love your posts too Lillian.
    Mark took that fabulous photo of our retro Frosty the Snowman. He is standing out there next to one of my raised vegetable gardens.
    Those chickens have given our empty nest a lot to be grateful for. I still need to make your spritz cookies. They look so festive!

    DOMESTIC WITCH:
    Why, thank you, kind lady. I can’t think of a nicer compliment 🙂
    12 INCHES??? We are not used to these frigid temps and icy roads in this area. We don’t even have people who plow the roads–everything just shuts down.
    Thanks for linking to me. I’ll add you right away.

  3. The pictures were great. Its good to see the girls. It looks like they are real cozy in their coup. Those cookies look so good. It looks like you are in the Christmas spirit. Your home must have smelled good while the cookies were baking.

  4. First of all, your cookies are a thing of beauty!

    Are they as delicious as they look?

    And I loved this. Love getting to know the girls 🙂 I’m certain they’re very apreciative to have their front door decorated for the holidays!

    YOur vintage Frosty is Fabulous!

  5. MAVEN: Thank you Ms Maven, I think you’d really like these cookies. They are so yummy!
    Mark takes good care of the girl’s home. He really outdid himself this time. I was thrilled.
    I scored Frosty last year at the thrift store!

    It’s still snowing….Oh Lord have mercy.

  6. Those girls are a saucy crew! I am laughing because their coop is decorated far more than my own. I’m still in awe over your Frosty. He looks even better this year than last! Love you and Merry Christmas!

  7. Hey !!

    Your cookies are so pretty. I bet they really taste good with your homemade filling.

    I LOVE that you have put lights on the coup. That made me smile.

    Hope you and yours have a wonderful Christmas !
    El
    alias Auntie Snickerdoodle

  8. Your cookies look delicious! The cherry filling makes my mouth water. I love cherry stuff.

    I am glad you posted your winter pics… thanks. 🙂 You’re yard is beautiful. The trees, the dwarves, the christmas coop, .. everything. How lucky you are to have that to look out on every day.

  9. MLP: I think he goes well with real snow. How about this snow? have you had enough? I think I have. Merry Christmas pretty lady. I can hardly wait to see you again. Love and hugs to you too!

    Auntie Snickerdoodle! : Nice to see you 🙂 I’m so happy we made you smile. Merry Christmas to you too.

    KIM: Thank you! My yard has some charm, but my oh my, it needs lots of work. I didn’t get any fall pruning done due to the dizzies.
    I think snow makes everything look clean and orderly too.

  10. I love Italian cookies. I live in an area heavily populated with Italians and Greeks so there are the best bakeries around here. I get the Italian Christmas cookies just like my mom did every year. She never baked (I did her baking once I was a teen) and always bought her cookies at a bakery 2 blocks over. So on Tuesday I will stand in line with throngs on people who travel from all over to get there holiday breads, cookies, canoli’s, and other items. My sons and dad are lost if I don’t follow some of Mom’s traditions. I just couldn’t do it right after she died, and they all went a bit mad wondering how I could not get that one item. This year they each get a box to take home. Other than that it’s going to be a frugal Christmas.

    13 inches of snow Friday and 3-4 more on Sunday, so we’re having a white one for a delightful change. We’ve missed the white stuff. Oh, and it’s 2 degrees and -20 windchill. Brrrrrr.

    Love the girl’s decorated house. Festive with the lights and wreath. Bet they love it.

    Merry, Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  11. Please ignore my miss spellings and typos. Their holiday bread … throngs of people

    I love the silver you have on your table in the photo that led us to this page. Family piece?

  12. Our girls are enduring several days of sub-zero temps here in Minnesota. We moved south to get away from those temperatures. Global warming?

    Grace and Peace
    Merry Christmas

    I enjoy your blog, especially the chicken photos

  13. Came to you via foodie blogroll and wanted to let you know I enjoyed your blog, getting to know you, your family and ‘the girls’. I’ll be visiting again. Happy New Year!

  14. ST COLLETTE: I can’t imagine a better gift than a batch of Italian cookies from a great Italian bakery! Your family is lucky to have you. I’m curious–what kind of cookies?
    Merry Christmas, and I never noticed type-os.
    The silver plated sugar bowl–shaped like scoop was an estate sale find. They’re actually affordable and I have seen a lot of them–on Ebay too. Thanks 🙂

    MARIE: Thank you so much! Happy Holidays!

    LISA: WOW! We look like whiners compared to you eastern folk. It was probably 15 on the coldest night, but we’re sure not used to that around here. I worried a lot about my chickens. You must have tough chickens too! Grace and Peace to you too and Merry Christmas and a Happy new Year! Thank you.

    JOAN: Thank you so much for visiting. I am going to bookmark your site. You are so well traveled. I am only a traveler of the US, but I hope, in time, to see Italy one day. Thanks for all the kind comments. Foodies make great friends.

  15. So by now you’ve realized that I’m spending the afternoon going through your blog. I really love it! I love all the Italian stuff! I’ve subscribed and now you’re safely kept in my reader! Looking forward to the future posts! 🙂

    • Michele, I added your blog to my Blog Roll! I’m so happy to “meet” you 🙂 I subscribed to your blog too. Thank you for subscribing to my blog. I think we’ll get along well–isn’t this fun?

Leave a Reply

