“Counting Flowers on the Wall” and FOODIE FIGHT! (the game)

Photobucket

I have spent much more time at home these days.  It isn’t fun to go out when you look like a drunk man walking.

I’m still not convinced the entire problem is with my vestibular nerve–even though the medical tests prove otherwise.  I am, however, convinced that God is punishing me for being hyperactive.

I have a million and one interests–not one that I am able to dive into without going full-bore like an obsessed lunatic.   My occupational therapist tells me I am overdoing it–whatever the hell that means.

What does the average person do in one day?  One week?  I don’t know what to measure myself against.  Most people work outside of the home.  I don’t.  I assumed that meant I have more free time.  The OT asked me what I do to relax?  I told her I blog, read, garden, socialize, and cook.   She tilted her head to one side and gave me a funny look.  She then asked me the same question, only more slowly–as if I hadn’t understood the question the first time she asked,

No, I mean what do you do to relax?”

Apparently, my idea of relaxing did not match her idea.  I asked her what one does to relax–stare at a wall?

“Well, no,” she said , “they might use meditation or yoga.”

Then, I got it!   She was asking me what I do for ten minutes out of my day.  You know, the things I have to force myself to do while watching the clock and thinking about the things I’d much rather be doing–like cooking or cleaning.

Hmm.  Well, this is going to take a total life change.  Maybe the Universe is sitting on me and demanding I  “Be still!”  I feel it, I really do.

Today I have the added bonus of lower back pain.  I bent to lift the toilet lid (good Feng Shui to keep that sucker closed!), and I felt a pain shoot up my spine that knocked me down on the floor.  Great!  I suppose all of the imbalance  and hobbling around has taken a toll on my back muscles.

Mark came home, cooked dinner, and massaged my lower back.  Now he is making oatmeal cookies–he has all the fun.

Oh, and my OT told me not to be online for more than thirty minutes at a time.  The same goes for reading, television, cooking, shopping, etc.   Apparently, these things really work the brain and stimulate the vestibular.  I guess I’d better get back to staring at my wall–which, by the way, could use a good scrubbing.   Just sayin’.

dog-wall


IN OTHER , More Interesting, NEWS!

I bought a great game after Christmas.  Yeah, I know it requires brain stimulation, but I love it!

foodie

Check it out here.

People who love food and cooking will really enjoy this game.  It’s also very educational.

14 thoughts on ““Counting Flowers on the Wall” and FOODIE FIGHT! (the game)

  1. First of all…

    “Apparently, my idea of relaxing did not match her idea. I asked her what one does to relax–stare at a wall?”

    You know I relate! Part of the New Year for me is learning how to be still.

    If you figure it out, will you let me know?

    Meanwhile, that game looks right up my damn alley! I think we need to get together this year and play it together.

    I hope the vestibular problems start getting better. But if its any consolation, I looked like a drunk myself when I left the house after five days in isolation 😉

    Happy New Year – I know we’re going to get together in 2009 and I can’t wait!

  2. oh, no, I just found your blog and have been enjoying it. I’m looking forward to more, not less, posts in 2009 so get well soon! Happy and HEALTHY new year.
    P.S. Fun game. I picked it up a few months ago.

  3. HA! That’s Jed’s biggest complaint about me…that I can’t just sit and “be”. Okay, maybe he’s got bigger complaints, but I’ll leave you two to discuss that. Perhaps that’s why I wanted kids…to have someone to do stuff with!

    The snowflakes falling on this page are making me feel like I’m having a seziure or macular degeneration or something like that. Thanks for making me question my sanity.

  4. Isn’t reading relaxing? I think so. And when 5:00 p.m. comes and I’m not starting dinner- I feel lost. Some people don’t get that cooking is a form of creativity.
    I read- I think in Oprah- that you are supposed to go to a quiet room and close your eyes for 5 minutes. I tried it and couldn’t last 2 minutes.

  5. Hope 2009 is a better year healthwise for you. I believe when you do things you’re passionate about, it’s healing, in a sense. Blogging is very relaxing to me! But I do need to get out and do some walking!!

  6. I’m so sorry to read about the vestibular problem…hope it resolves itself soon! I am definitely going to check that game out, it sounds so fun!

  7. Sorry to hear your back is out. Mine is too – must be some weird psychic connection. Feel better and try to relax!

    Wishing you and yours a very happy 2009!

  8. If I were to play that game.. I wouldn’t have anyone to play with. Can you play it solitaire?

    Happy New Year … good wishes and lots of happiness I am hoping for you.

  9. I am sorry to hear about the health problems you are dealing with! That is terrible, but I am sure with the great attitude you have things will get better soon.

    I love meditation and I try to do it at least 5 times per week. It is a wonderful way to start the day.

  10. I am so sorry I haven’t responded to your very kind comments. Thank you so much for the well wishes.

    MAVEN: We need to do some farmer’s market cooking together–soon! I need another trip to your beautiful island.

    JOAN: Thank you 🙂 I saw my vest therapist today and she assured me as long as I take breaks, I can keep on blogging. YAY!

    FREDDY: I can’t imagine you just sitting. You have my hyper energy–I can tell. I have lots of questions for Jed–when at last we meet.
    TAMARA: I agree–I think reading is very relaxing. I’ve had to do ten minutes of quiet at a time…as long as I ly down, I seem to do okay. If I just sit, I get antsy.
    WEEZY): The New Year is going to be better than the last–it has to be. Thanks.

    MARIE: Let me know what you think of the game. I beat Mark at it, and we’re both learning a lot about food and cooking.

    MLP: Well, I will work this vestibular stuff out. I am loaded on rehab exercises and giving it my all. We’ll have to play the game together.

    LAUREN: Please win a million dollars and be psychically connected to me when you do 🙂 These sore backs suck! feel better soon. I’m doing stretches.
    KIM: What? Nobody to play Foodie with? Well, I’ll have to swing down to California.
    JENNDZ: I need to have your discipline. Meditating five times a week is probably something I need to commit to. I’m getting close.

    THANKS to all for the well wishes.

  11. HI I sure hope your ‘Vesti’ thingo gets well soon! ,,,,lol,, I have just stumbled into your website whilst brousing my beloved breed of dogs ‘Yorkies’ and I got thoroughly side tracked reading ‘you’ with much interest and loads of smiles!!! Keep up the good work in here!!! if you are not allowed to sit at your ‘Ticker-Tacker’ for too long whilst your nerve is ‘crook’ can ya try standing? heh, heh, heh, cos I selfishly want more good readin stuff from ya! ,,,lol,,, byeeeeeee for now ….. Carmel-Anne… Elizabeth North South Australia…

Leave a Reply

