Kitchen Thrift Finds, Hair, and a Healthy Fruit Snack

Photobucket

I think I’m finally getting my energy back!

It’s been a long time.  I grew tired of the physical and occupational therapy.  I actually quit.  I decided enough is enough, and I’m ready to get back in the game.

The first thing I did was hit the thrift shop!

thrift-finds

I have always wanted one of those rainbow wooden spoons, and the measuring cup/scoops are my greatest find!  They are stainless steel, and perfect for bread baking.

The vintage colander went to my son and his fiance.  I swear by vintage colanders, and the star pattern is my favorite.

I decided to get my hair cut yesterday.  The color had grown out, and I missed the ease of shorter hair.

This is how shaggy I was looking a few weeks back….

wineryme

ABOVE: Castlerock Winery -Concrete, WA

I haven’t had a chance to get a picture of the shorter cut, but at least the big hair is somewhat under control.

Food wise, I’ve discovered a very easy and healthy snack.  It makes it easy for me to get an apple, an orange, and a banana down–all in one dish.

fruitsalad21

No cooking required.  Simply chop an apple, slice a banana, peel and chop an orange–squeezing the juice from half the orange into the salad, add some shredded unsweetened coconut, and chopped pecans.  It tastes like dessert!

Have a favorite healthy snack?  Please, let me know!

10 thoughts on “Kitchen Thrift Finds, Hair, and a Healthy Fruit Snack

  1. I’m glad your getting your mojo back. Thrifting is always a lot of fun. The apple banana orange dessert looks very appetizing… I will try that… the textures look like a perfect combination. I think I have said it before but I will say it again.. the cake keeper is awesome. If I ever find one thrifting I am getting it.. even though I don’t make many cakes.

  2. We will try the fruit salad it looks and sounds great..

    We have had the fruit smoothies a lot from the book Food Matters and we have enjoyed them, too.

    It was good to see you smiling, happy and feeling good, yesterday.

  3. Your teas service photo should be in Victoria Magazine. It’s lovely!

    I am thinking about changing an area of the shop to a section for Foodies- full of old and gently used Kitchen Gear.

    I would look for cookcooks, measuring cups, food processors, pepper grinders, tea pots etc. It’s unbelievable what some people part with.

  4. Hi — We talked several months ago and I tried to contact you, but I think it was just before your bout of dizzy fatigue. Anyway, i am glad you are feeling better. i don’t know if you have been on the chicken meetup site, but I posted the double tragedy of 2 of our girls being killed by raccoons. We had two left and I decided that, for the moment, we will stop keeping hens (a difficult decision). But now I feel great because today we delivered Angel and Sage to a young family in North Seattle who are pursuing heavy duty gardening and back-to-the-earth lifestyle in cooperation with their neighbors. Our time to regroup and have chickens will come sometime in the (I hope) not too far future.

    I am planning to start some veggies in my greenhouse this week, and turn the compost heap, and dig the good earth from the chicken run to get my garden ready for spring planting!

    Maybe we can meet over a cup of tea sometime this spring.

    Fondly, Leigh Krueger

  5. Cute site, and thanks for leaving a comment! When refrigerated, the syrup pours quite thick. Not as thick as molasses, but thicker than the last bottle of hershey’s stuff I bought. You could probably adjust the liquid to your taste, and my guess is that simmering time probably affects viscosity, too.

  6. Wow that fruit salad looks very tasty!

    I’m glad you’re feeling better! Hopefully that gets you posting more because you inspire me!

Leave a Reply

