When Sorbet and Sorbato Marry Prosecco…Oh, That’s Amore!

I love my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker.  I love it so much, I own three.  Two are secondhand.  Obviously, the machines had never been used–one was still in its plastic packaging.   I can’t help but wonder if the former owners simply didn’t realize how easy it is to make great ice cream, sorbet, and gelato from this simple little machine.

My son, Sean, was visiting a few weeks ago and he asked me why I have more than one of several different kitchen gadgets.  I told him I was hoping one day he would need one and I would have it!   I gave him my extra Italian pasta maker, and now I have an ice cream maker with his name on it.   I think he believes I am some kind of kitchenware hoarder, but no, I knew, one day, he would love to cook too.  Moms just KNOW these things!

I like having at least two of these because I can make two different kinds of ice cream for one gathering.  You actually only need two of the freezer bowls, but since I found them secondhand, the machine cost me less than buying extras bowls separately.

For my “Big Night” I wanted a special drink and the following recipe fit the bill.  The sorbato recipe is considered a blend of sorbet and gelato.  It is very good in this drink or on its own!

The second recipe is for a sorbet.   I have read that in ancient Rome, Emperor Nero would have snow brought from the mountains and flavor it with fresh fruits to produce a dessert similar to what is now known as sorbet.

dsc_0296

dsc_03101

dsc_03781

dsc_03751

Strawberry Sorbato and Prosecco Floats

Adapted from Bon Appetit April 2009 issue

  • 2 pounds ripe strawberries, sliced
  • 1 cup sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 750-ml bottle Prosecco, chilled

Mix strawberries, sugar, and salt in large bowl.  Let stand until juicy, about 30 minutes. Puree mixture in batches in blender.  Mix cream and lemon juice into puree. Process in ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s instructions–I do it for 25-30 minutes.  Transfer to container; cover and freeze until firm, at least 3 hours and up to 2 days.  If it gets too hard–take it out of freezer and set on counter for about 10 minutes before serving.

Place 1 scoop sorbato in each of 8 glasses. Fill each glass with Prosecco (sorbato will float to top).

NOTE: Original recipe presses strawberry mixture through a fine strainer before processing in ice cream maker.  I don’t mind the seeds or pulp and I skip this part.

mandarinsorbet

Hazan’s  Mandarin Orange Sorbet is not a plain orange flavored sorbet.  The flavor of the Prosecco and the lemon takes thisover the top!  The perfect palate cleanser.  Very refreshing in the summertime  too.

Mandarin Orange Sorbet (Sorbetto al Mandarino)

Adapted from Giuliano Hazan’s recipe in  “How to Cook Italian”

Makes about 1 qt

6 fresh whole mandarin oranges  (or enough to squeeze out 1 1/2 cups juice)

1 cup water

1 cup sugar

1 cup Prosecco (Sparkling Italian wine)

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice

Peel the zest from two of the oranges  (try to keep in long strips-using a potato peeler–just the zest)

Place the zest in a small pan with the water and sugar.  Cover, place over medium heat, and bring to a boil.  stir until sugar is completely dissolved and then remove from heat.

Squeeze all the oranges to make 1 1/2 cups juice.

Discard orange zest and put the sugar mixture in a medium bowl.  Add the Prosecco, mandarin orange juice, and lemon juice.  Mix well, refirgerate until cold.

Transfer mixture to an ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s directions.  I let it run in my Cuisinart for 25-30 minutes.  Transfer sorbet to a container.  Cover and freeze for a few hours before serving.

dsc_0307

2 thoughts on “When Sorbet and Sorbato Marry Prosecco…Oh, That’s Amore!

  1. Pingback: A Long Day and a “Big Night”! « Angelnina’s Cottage

  2. I have an ice cream maker just like this. I was on a sales reward program when I lived in San Antonio where I earned points and then got to spend them out of a catalog. I had never had an electric ice cream maker, so I took that opportunity to get one. I really enjoyed it, but am now reminded that I haven’t used it in two years, since I moved back to NC….although the freezer bowl has been in my freezer all that time..LOL…I can’t believe that now that I am typing it, it just doesn’t seem like THAT long. I made several things in it. My favorite I think was lemon sorbet..mmMMMmm… Now that I have seen your blog, it is making me want to pull it out and make some. Hmmmm wonder where I stored that thing !?!

Leave a Reply

