Turf and Surf ~Chimichurri Argentine Steak

NOTE:  The following is a re-post from my Myspace blog.  I posted this in February 2007 .

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

(Brackett’s Landing at Sunset)

Seattle has had some warm (over 50 degrees!) weather the past few days.  We decided to fire up the grill and celebrate.

I’ve been experimenting with Argentine Chimichurri sauce, and I’ve found one I really love–Bob BLumer’s recipe (Surreal Gourmet). The sauce can be used on fish, chicken, or beef.

The squeeze bottle is a mixture of kosher salt and cayenne pepper.  While grilling steaks give it a few squirts of this over the top, and you’ll love the kick it gives the meat.

Argentinian Chimichurri Sauce:


1 cup lightly packed chopped parsley (ideally, flat leaf “Italian” parsley)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
1/2 teaspoon chili pepper flakes (if you like it really spicey add a teaspoon +)
2 tablespoons fresh oregano leaves (optional)
2 tablespoons shallot or onion, minced
3/4 cup vegetable or olive oil (I used half and half)
3 tablespoons red wine vinegar
3 tablespoons lemon juice


Steak:
1 tablespoon cayenne pepper
3 tablespoons salt
2 1/2 pounds rib-eye, New York strip, or sirloin steak, 1 1/2 inches thick (we used Rib-eye)

Preheat a grill.
Place all chimichurri sauce ingredients in a blender or food processor and pulse until well chopped, but not pureed. Reserve.

Dissolve cayenne pepper and salt in 1 cup hot water. Transfer to a squeeze container.

We kept marinating steaks with chimichurri and a few squeezes of the water cayenne solution.  Best to serve the chimichurri alongside the meat and use the amount you like.

Save any leftover chimichurri in the fridge for more dinners. We loved it!

Read the reviews for this recipe here.

For photos and more, click below.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Served with baked potatoes and a chopped salad…heaven!

In other news:

My girlfriend, Liz, surprised me with a batch of late Christmas presents!  Only a true friend understands my passion for kitchen gadgets!  I look forward to trying them all out in my kitchen.  I was desperate for prep bowls! The mint chocolate candle will come in handy too!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

NOTE TO LIZ:

I’ve been using these items, and they are all excellent!

9 thoughts on “Turf and Surf ~Chimichurri Argentine Steak

  1. Ok I’m looking at the steak drooling. The marinating sauce sounds good, too.

    What a beautiful day it was today. I think spring is finally here.

  2. I love this sauce, and I’m going to try it with grilled chicken and fish too. Liz is a great friend, and I’m lucky to know her 🙂

    WeezY: Ma, you can try that sauce on chicken and it will be healthier. I guess spring decided to go away another day 🙂 Oh well, it’s still a great day!

  3. Looks like another great recipe! Do you store the leftover cayenne/salt water spritzer.. surely you don’t use the whole bottle?

  4. I craved tostones with chimichurri sauce during the last month or so of my pregnancy. Still do! LOL My chimichurri is a Panamanian version, close to your recipe. Leave out the basil, add about a half cup or so of loosely packed cilantro, switch the chile flakes for a diced serrano pepper and there you go! Delicious!

  5. I’m still smiling to think you now have a son too!!!
    I could go for switching the flakes to a serrano! I’m one of those people who can’t tolerate cilantro though.

  6. HI TAMARA! We had this again last night, and we STILL love it! Some recipes use cilantro–but I’m one of those odd people who has an aversion to it–my son mixes half parsley and half cilantro. Let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

