Scottish Shortbread in Hartstone Rooster Mold

I have an attraction to the these beautiful shortbread molds.  I find them at estate and second hand sales.

roostermold

ABOVE: Vintage Rooster Hartstone shortbread oven mold.

I think shortbread is one of the most satisfying buttery treats I’ve had the pleasure of eating –especially when served with a hot cup of tea or coffee.

As a little girl, I can remember eating Keebler Pecan Sandies–from the package.   They were one of my favorite store bought cookies, and as a child,store bought cookies were, pretty much, the only cookies available in my house.  You can imagine my joy when, after purchasing a vintage shortbread mold, I baked a batch of shortbread with chopped pecans, and lo and behold I discovered what a home baked shortbread really tastes like!

I’ve dipped them in chocolate, baked them in molds, cut them into shapes, frosted, and sandwiched them, but nothing says comfort food like a simple Scottish shortbread recipe baked right in the mold.

Scottish Shortbread
Recipe by: Hartstone Shortbread Molds

PRINT THIS RECIPE

1 1/2 cups flour — sifted
3/4 cup confectioner’s sugar
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup butter — softened

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Mix all ingredients together. Knead thoroughly until the consistency becomes doughy. Press very firmly into mold making sure that dough fits into every part of surface.

Bake in a preheated oven approximately 45 minutes, or until shortbread is lightly browned and still somewhat springy to the touch. Let cool in mold and then run knife around the perimeter of the shortbread to loosen it from the mold. Remove to rack.

Variations:

Fruit and Nut Shortbread:
To basic Scottish Shortbread recipe add any one of the following ingredients: 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts or pecans, 1/4 cup of finely chopped raisins.

ANITA’S NOTES: I don’t allow it to cool completely.  It can stick to the mold, so I wait until it is warm enough to handle, I gently loosen, and remove.   Some people say to lightly spray the mold–I don’t.  ALSO, keep an eye on the baking time, as I’ve noticed it can vary with ovens.

dsc_0437

ABOVE: Rooster shaped Scottish Shortbread

I have a few extra molds I plan to put on my vintage Etsy site.  They’re hard to come by these days, but I think one of each is probably enough.

13 thoughts on “Scottish Shortbread in Hartstone Rooster Mold

  1. Hi SUZANNE:! I’ve missed you 🙂 I’m a shortbread fanatic. Something about a cup of hot Typhoo black tea and a little piece of shortbread.

    TAMARA: I just love the old fashioned rooster. As you know, I’m a nut for everything chicken 🙂

  2. I agree 🙂 No, this mold is rather large at about 8″, and I could have probably made 2, but I just rolled and cut out the remaining dough.

    When I use my round hearts and tulips mold–it is deeper and uses the whole recipe. I posted a photo of that one on FB. These are easy to make, and perfect to serve to a neighbor or company dropping by. A nice afternoon snack.

  3. What a great looking cookie! Shortbread was my favorite, too. No eggs in it. Since I can’t eat egg yokes. This would be a great recipe to make for something sweet. I can even switch my butter to the butter I can have which is Benecol.

  4. I’ve never seen one of those moulds – the rooster turned out gorgeous. What a fabulous thing to serve if you had friends over for tea. Love the idea of fruit in the shortbread.

  5. Well, you’ll have to get on down here and comb the sales with me 🙂 The molds are great just to hang on the walls too. As a matter of fact, I have a plan for them on the kitchen soffits.

  6. The rooster mold is so cool! Love the way you incorporate old “50’s” stuff to work for today’s cooking. These are my childhood memories. Plus you yourself look cool too!

  7. My mom was given a Hartstone Pennsylvania dutch mold. Neither one of us knew how to get the shortbread to come out of the mold. Thank you so much for posting this, Now I know what to do 🙂

Leave a Reply

