A Morning Walk

I’ve been walking close to three miles a day for the past few weeks.  I have a lot of anxiety, and I’ve found walking, for at least an hour, seems to help tone it down.   I’ve suffered from anxiety, on and off, my entire life.  Recently, I noticed it was reaching a point that made me feel extremely uncomfortable. I knew I had to do something, but I didn’t know quite what to do.

I know exercise is key in calming the mind, so I mapped a walk near my home, and I set out to walk and walk and walk some more.  I’m so happy I decided to start walking down on the waterfront.  It is only a seven minute drive from my house, and the views are healing.  I thought I’d share a few shots of my late morning journey.

DSC_2085

Brackett’s Landing is the ferry terminal for the town of Edmonds.  This park has saved my life.  I can remember bringing my son here when he was very young.  This park will always remind me of our days at the beach.

There is something magical about this place.  I like to read and write here.  Lately it seems to have gained popularity and it’s a challenge to find a parking spot.  I just park up the hill in town and make the walk longer.  It’s all good.

DSC_2090

Just past the ferry terminal is a lovely path through yet another park.  In mid summer there are small trees here that are very fragrant.  I still don’t know what they’re called, but the fragrance stops me in my tracks.  I swear fairies live here.

25 MORE PHOTOS BEHIND THE CUT…

DSC_2106

Then it’s past the Senior Center–if I’m not too tempted to stop into their little thrift shop!–and down the steps onto the beach.  I need to feel the sand under my feet.  It grounds me.  Of course then I need to empty my shoes of sand when we climb the next set of steps up toward Anthony’s Beach Restaurant.

DSC_2136

When you walk by the restaurant, you can smell the alder planked salmon.

DSC_2114

Next, the fishing pier.  Over the years, I’ve seen amazing things on this pier.  Shrimp, crab, salmon, starfish, and sea lions…and so much more.

DSC_2117

A lone fisherman.

DSC_2121

DSC_2123

Fishermen who like to chatter.

DSC_2125

DSC_2133

Plenty of boats along the marina.

DSC_2135

DSC_2155

Bridge to yet another park.

DSC_2166

DSC_2177

A colorful little family building sand castles on the beach

DSC_2180

DSC_2181

DSC_2182

“There goes the ferry!”

DSC_2191

This little girl has it going on.  She has enough buckets and colorful castle molds to create quite a kingdom.

DSC_2194

I can’t believe how many people I see talking on cell phones at the beach!

DSC_2195

They can’t hide from me.  I spotted two beautiful sun bathers in a hidden corner by the wall.

DSC_2188

DSC_2201

DSC_2205

Heading back to town for the car.  I couldn’t stand the heat, and I was starving, so Mark and I stopped off for a cup of soup at the Waterfront Coffee Company.

DSC_2208

A dog friendly coffee shop to boot!   I love to stop in here for hot tea in the winter time too.

DSC_2213

Stomachs full, and making our way back up the hill.

DSC_2073

DSC_2186

Anxiety?  What anxiety?

8 thoughts on “A Morning Walk

  1. Walking does help for anxiety. I lived within walking distance to Lake Erie in NY when I was growing up and when newly married. I did not appreciate it enough until I moved. Thanks for bringing back memories!
    (((HUGS))), Suzanne

  2. Gorgeous pics, dear. That’s quite a beautiful and impressive hike. Looks like lots of fun. I’d love to see it in person one day.

    Love on your head.

Leave a Reply

