Lavender Fields Forever

DSC_2833

Oh how I love the scent of lavender.  It does something to me.  No, really, it does something to  me.

I want to touch it, I want to smell it, I want to cook with it, and I want to bathe in it!  I can’t tell you how much I love lavender!  It must be the Lavender Fairies, but I just have to have it in my life.

I visited Lavender Hills Farm today, and let me tell you, it is an amazing place to visit.

As I walked through the entrance, I smelled a wonderful scent, but it wasn’t lavender–what was it?  Jasmine?  Oh no, this was something I have smelled before–it was honeysuckle!  Lots and lots of  honeysuckle wrapped around the arbor entrance to the lavender fields.  Oh, the smell of honeysuckle mixed with this view?…

DSC_2850

Intoxicating!

How long has this farm been here, and why haven’t I visited before?  Oh, forget the past, look at this place!

DSC_2836

DSC_2829

I’m highly allergic and I avoid cats like the plague, but remember, I was under a the spell of the wee folk 🙂 …

DSC_2841

Look at this little one…

DSC_2843

The Lavender Fairies put a spell on me and I want a cat.  I do!

DSC_2847

DSC_2848

Every where I went, these green eyes were never far behind.

DSC_2834

I especially enjoyed the blown glass garden art–gorgeous!

DSC_2845

I left with a jar of lavender honey (from their own bee hives!), a package of culinary lavender, a white lavender plant (Yes!  Lavender can be white too!), and 3 rhododendrons–they are mystery plants, as the owner has no idea what kind they are.  I figured for $3 a bush, I’ll take my chances.  I mean, who knows what else those fairies have in store for me.  I’ll keep you posted.

In the meantime, I need to start baking something with lavender.

Maybe this Lemon Lavender Cake!

9 thoughts on “Lavender Fields Forever

  1. Oh what a wonderful day you had! That lavendar cake sounded so good. I tried to copy the recipe, but it wouldn’t copy right. I will try again.

  2. yay.. chalk one up for the kitties! He’s a cutie too. I love lavender.. but I am bad with it. I bought a lovely lavendar bush… potted it.. enjoyed it for about two weeks and the flowers withered.. and so I cut them thinking that would encourage the plant to give me new flowers… and no such luck.. it’s been about a month!!! I want some soft purple velvety flowers back.

    • Kim, I’ll bet you’ll get a lot of flowers from it next year! The man at the lavender farm told me to cut the flowers back when I planted it to give me more flowers next season.

  3. Pingback: Lavender Wine Jelly, Cranberry Conserve, and Mandarin Jam « Angelnina’s Cottage

Leave a Reply

