Chicken Predators

What a summer we’re having!  I’ve decided I need to scale back on some of my plans.  I had wanted to paint the house and out building a nice light yellow with white trim, but we may need to push that plan into next summer.  The gardens and chickens are keeping me plenty busy.

A few weeks ago, Mark and I heard a lot of commotion behind our side yard fence.  The trees are thick between the two properties, but we heard a few crows flipping a fit!   On closer observation, I discovered this little bandit in the cherry tree.

DSC_2884

On even closer observation, I saw 4 little bandits!   Mother crow was on the branch above screaming for the life of her baby.

The bandits looked right through me.

My only fear was for the chickens.  Two older hens are allowed to roam with a simple nylon fence, and I can’t believe the raccoons haven’t attacked by now.

They sure do look sweet and innocent…

DSC_2893

We have decided we can’t go on worrying about letting the big girls roam. Nature may take its course, but it feels cruel to keep them penned up. Two weeks later, the girls are alive and well.

DSC_0051

Last night, the motion detector went off on the outside of the chicken coop, and we saw a possum climbing up the side looking to gain entry.  I hear tell possum eat chicken too.  Check out this very cool Youtube video.

Our large screen television blew up last night, but I think we have our own wildlife show going on in the backyard.

I’ve been absent from my blog. Summer is a busy time at Angelnina’s Cottage. We’ve had a beautiful spring and summer. Our part of the country usually doesn’t deliver all the sunshine and warm temperatures we’ve enjoyed this year.   I believe we earned it after an unusually hard winter.

4 thoughts on “Chicken Predators

  1. Hahaha! That video is GREAT! She said “Look dude, I got an egg on the way and I can’t hold it. Move, or I’ll kick you butt!”

    That made my night!

    Raccoons are so pretty, but evil little turds. We have one out at the cabin that just hangs around the fire pit sometimes. We stand up on the deck and just watch him walk around like he owns the place!

  2. Niki! So great to hear from you.
    She was one determined hen! I still can’t believe the possum didn’t attack. Very cool. We have way too many raccoons around here 😦

Leave a Reply

