Future Farmers of America and a Berry Crumble

farmkidscopyright

ABOVE: American Gothic? My son Sean, and his fiancee Olivia posed for me.

I was required to bring in five or more prints to present to my photography class.  I had a lot of fun with this project.

If you’d like to see more photos I’ve taken please go to Angelnina’s Photography Blog

In other news….

Berry Crumble

Blackberry season, in my neighborhood, can easily turn to war.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve caught people trespassing on my property to pick the blackberries.  Attempts to deter the berry thieves have been futile.  People will break the law for a free blackberry.  I’ve tried everything–from sneak attacks to police tape.  It simply comes down to survival of the fittest.  So far, a group of four elderly Korean women are burying me.  These ladies are out before the rooster crows!  They can clean out the entire patch of newly ripened berries in a single morning.  Before I manage to drink my morning tea, the early risers have filled their buckets and–I’m guessing–have blackberry pies in the oven.  I was lucky to score a few cups of berries to make my berry crumble.  Thankfully, I had a cup of frozen raspberries to throw into the mix!

Berry Crumble

Filling

3 cups of your favorite berries or mix of berries

1/3 c sugar

1/8 c flour

Tbsp orange juice (opt)

Toss well, and heat a little on stove

-Pour berry mixture into little ramekins– I used 5

Topping

1/2 c flour

1/4 c brown sugar

1/8 c sugar

1/8 tsp Kosher salt

Pulse a few times to combine in food processor

Add

4 Tbsp cold butter , cut up

pulse until size of peas

Pour mixture into a bowl and add 1/4 cup dry oats ( I used Old Fashioned Quaker Oats)

stir in oats.

Place a few Tablespoons of topping over the berries in the ramekins.

Sprinkle sliced almonds over the top.

You will have some topping leftover–place in fridge to use next time!

Bake these on a lined baking sheet  at 350 degrees till warm and bubbly–about 30 minutes +

Enjoy with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream!

19 thoughts on “Future Farmers of America and a Berry Crumble

  1. Love the american gothic pic.. I got it right away. Love Olivia holding a chicken! She looks like she could wring it’s neck right now. Too bad these two don’t pop out of your berry patch first thing in the morning. I bet the berry thieves would think twice about stealing the fruits of your labor.

  2. Oh, what a GREAT idea! Although I think the elderly ladies can tak’em 😉

    I’m happy to hear you say that about Olivia with the chicken. I wanted the image to show her as confident and strong. Can you believe she had never held a chicken before this shoot!

  3. I’ve visited your photography blog before and I love this latest shot. You’ve got a great eye and such interesting and willing subjects.

  4. Love the American Gothic photo. Olivia looks like she could be dangerous with that chicken.

    Hope you can score your share of the blackberries – maybe you could sic the chickens on the poachers.

  5. Oops! I left a comment on your photography blog. Though Olivia was your daughter. Regardless, she is beautiful and so are you.

    I love, love, love this photo. The chicken is quite photogenic.

  6. Lauren: Great idea! 😉

    LISA- LOL! I agree, Olivia is a beauty. I wish I could take credit for it–thank you 🙂
    Thanks so much–I think the Buff Orpingtons are one of the most beautiful breed of chickens–I’ll let her know she received a compliment as well 😉

  7. Love, love, love Olivia & Sean’s “American Gothic” pose. And are the Korean berry stealers the same neighbors you’ve blogged about in the past? Dare I suggest an electric fence around the berry patch?

  8. THANK YOU!
    ..and yes, they are the same berry thieves. I’ve decided to look at this as more of a challenge–like a hunter–or survival of the fittest. The challenge for next year is to wake up earlier than they do 😉

Leave a Reply

