Angelnina’s Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

cocnutchocookies

These are my new favorite cookie.

Apparently my family likes them too because these cookies sure didn’t stick around in the cookie jar for very long 🙂

I just love coconut!  No, I mean, I really really love the stuff.  I know some people hate coconut, and I’ve heard people complain about certain foods tasting like the 1970s suntan oils.  Well, I’d like to confess that when I was a kid, I slathered that stuff all over me–I have the wrinkles and moles to prove it too.  If it was edible, I would be making 1970s coconut scented suntan oil cookies SPF 15.  I’m serious.

Yes, I’m a coconut nut.  Throw chocolate into the mix, and my eyes start to roll back into my head.  I’m afraid everything tastes better with chocolate.  So, I give you my version of the coconut chocolate chip cookie.

Angelnina’s Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup butter (at room temperature)

1/2 cup white sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 x-lg eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 cups flour

1/4 cups oats

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp Kosher salt

2 cups unsweetened coconut –I use the large shavings-processed in food processor

1 3/4 cups bittersweet chocolate chips

-Cream butter and sugars with mixer

Add eggs one at a time, mixing after each addition.  Add vanilla.

Mix dry ingredients together and Stir into wet mixture

Stir in chocolate chips

Scoop dough by tablespoon (or use medium scoop) onto parchment lined or silicon baking mat lined cookie sheet .

Bake at 375 degrees for 10-13 minutes

PS These do not taste like suntan oil 😉

DSC_6366ABOVE: Giovanni lounging while I bake

4 thoughts on “Angelnina’s Coconut Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Giovanni misses you guys too. He is so depressed. He won’t stop nagging us about how many snacks he gets when he is with Grandpa and Grandma. He has also informed us that he supposed to be seated on one of our laps at dinner time? I wonder who started this???

  2. Will you adopt me? Since my aunt passed, no one else eats coconut the way I do. These look so delicious. Can’t wait to try them or that dreamy coconut pie on here! Thank you so much for sharing the coco love!

Leave a Reply

