Pickled Peck of Jalapeno Peppers

jalapenosslic

Remember the chile peppers from my last blog?    Well, I gathered up 2 pounds–I threw in a few cayenne to make it an even 2 pounds–and decided to pickle them.

Jalapenos can be green or red, or somewhere in between.  The red ones have simply ripened longer.

I highly recommending wearing gloves when working with hot chiles.  I used to think gloves were for scaredy cats–that is until I burned my fingers when I got hold of the hottest chile pepper north of  the Mexican border.

True story–I had white blisters under my fingernails!   Who knew blisters under finger nails are so painful they can keep you up at night?

picklingliquid

Pickling liquid

canner

Water Bath Canner (You can find these at most thrift shops!)

jalapenocan

Pickled Jalapenos!

This is such a simple process.  I’ll be adding pickled peppers to my canning list every year now!

These are  HOT HOT HOT !

Mark used a few in chili last night, and they are just right!  Flavorful and spicy little chiles.

I found a wonderful recipe for Pickled Jalapeno Peppers.

PICKLED JALAPENO PEPPERS

2 lbs jalapenos, washed, and stems removed (most of my peppers were red off the vine)

2 cups vinegar ( I used white)

2 cups water

1/2 cup olive oil

2 tsp Kosher salt

2 tsp pickling spices

I like to cut a slit down the side of each pepper.

Next, pack your prepared peppers into the jar-leaving about 1-2″ from top

Bring remaining ingredients to a boil over med high heat-stirring to dissolve salt.

Pour boiling sauce over peppers–leaving at least 1/2″ head space

Place lids on and screw on bands tightly

Process in boiling water bath for 20 minutes

Remove bands when cool (I don’t)

Make sure jars seal, those that do not should be refrigerated immediatey.

Store several weeks before use.  (You can use them at any time, but they are more “pickled” weeks later)

Recipe says it makes 3 pints,  but I ended up with 4 pints 🙂

NOTE: If you’ve never canned before, I  recommend reading the Ball Canning Recipe Book.  Follow instructions closely for safety purposes.

2 thoughts on “Pickled Peck of Jalapeno Peppers

  1. If you would like another great pepper canning recipe, we make this one every year.
    Clean bananas peppers, removing stem and pull out seeds.
    Slice in food processor.
    Place in crock and heavily salt each 4 finger layer. Add lots of chopped garlic.
    Leave to brine overnight.
    In the morning, drain brine and pack peppers and garlic in jar.
    Add 1 shot of apple cider vinegar and fill jar with vegetable oil.
    Can and enjoy.
    Delicious on Spagetti or sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

