Pollo con Cipolle e Aceto (Chicken with Onions and Vinegar)

chickvinegardone

This is my new favorite chicken dish.  I’ve raved over the years about my favorite cookbook in the entire world, “Cooking with Grace” by Grace Pilato, and once again I’ve found a treasure hidden in this wonderful book.

I think the name of the dish turned me off, and I was a bit frightened by the amount of vinegar.  One day I was thinking about a chicken dish I had been served by my Italian grandmother, and suddenly it occurred to me that it had a bit of vinegar.  I decided to go for Grace’s recipe, and am I ever happy I did.  It was different and– dare I say—better than the chicken I had remembered–this is good old Italian fried chicken with a huge kick!

I’ve made it twice now, and I’ll be making it again very soon.  I have served it with potatoes and with rice, I like it both ways.

Click below for recipe and more…

Chicken with Onions and Vinegar

Adapted from recipe in “Cooking with Grace”

PRINTABLE RECIPE

Ingredients

Whole chicken (approx 4 lb), cut-up into 8 pieces-discard back if desired

Kosher salt and fresh ground pepper

1/3 cup all purpose flour

3 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil–I use 6 and divide it between two skillets I fry the chicken pieces in.

1 large sweet onion (Grace uses 2 lg. yellow), cut in half then sliced

1/2 tsp Kosher salt

1/4 tsp ground pepper

2 sprigs rosemary, needles removed from stems, stems discarded–I chop the needles

3 Tbsp sugar

3/4 cup good red wine vinegar (don’t be afraid!)

Procedure

Rinse chicken with cold water, drain, and pat dry with paper towels.  Season both sides with S&P

Using a gallon Ziplock bag,  dump flour in bag, then add half of the chicken pieces as a time, close ziplock, cshake till pieces are coated, then remove from bag and shake off excess.

Place two large skillets over  medium high heat, when skillets are warm add oil,  WHen oil is hot add as many chicken that will fit without overcrowding.  Brown chicken well on both sides.  Remove pieces that are browned and crisped and place on platter.   After the frying, you will have some oil left in the skillets.  Pour off oil from one skillet into the other and now fry onions in the one large skillet.   Season the onions with the salt and pepper saute till tender around 5-6 minutes.  With slotted sppon, remove onions and place on platter with chicken.  Sprinkle rosemary over the chicken and onions.

Drain most of the oil from the skillet and place skillet over med-high heat.  Place chicken, and onions back into skillet.  Stir the sugar with the vinegar in a small bowl till well mixed.  POur vingear and sugar mixture over chicken–you will hear a sizzling sound.  COok uncovered about 5 minutes–turning once.  WHen most of the vinegar has been absorbed, turn the heat to low and cover tightly.  Cook an additioal 25-30 minutes, turning chicken once.

chickvinegar

Above: adding vinegar and sugar–see? not too scary 😉

13 thoughts on “Pollo con Cipolle e Aceto (Chicken with Onions and Vinegar)

  1. I had boneless chicken breasts- so I am trying this recipe with the boneless breasts. I’ll let you know how it turns out.
    It looked so good I HAD to try it! ❤ Bless you!- t

  2. Yum !! This sounds delish ! Or… maybe it’s the picture that makes me think that. I will have to add this to my list of recipes to try.

  3. TAMARA: Please do let me know! I’ve been thinking about you and your mama…

    SNICKERDOODLE: I hope you try it–I am in love with it. A nice not too sweet tangy chicken.

  4. This took me back more years than I care to admit. I remember my cousin making her mom’s chicken and, as I recall, it was chicken, layered with onions, and cooked in red wine vinegar. I sort of think it was cooked together not in stages (which I prefer because there are layers of flavor) but I do recall it was delicious. I think I might be making it this week.

  5. JOAN: The chicken I remember had the tang of vinegar, but I think it lacked the initial step of dusting with flour and pan frying. What a difference a little flour and frying in olive oil can make! Let me know what you think of it. It has become a regular weeknight dinner at my house.

  6. Since red wine vinegar and onions are two of my favorites (and I also like chicken), I know I’ll be trying this one.
    Lillian

  7. I love sweet and sour recipes. It’s funny, I didn’t grow up on that since it’s really a Sicilian thing and the Grandmother who I always speak of (the other one didn’t cook) isn’t Sicilian. My ex was and his mom was an excellent cook. She made a lot of things this way and they were delicious. I’m definitely going to try it!

    • My dad’s side of the family are from Oklahoma and Texas, so the fried chicken makes it possible for both sides of me to feel super satisfied with this chicken recipe. I hope you do try it, and let me know what you think of it. Thank you for dropping by my cottage 🙂

  8. I fixed this for dinner today along with pasta, homemade garlic bread and tiramisu. Both of my daughters loved the chicken. Thanks, Angelnina.

Leave a Reply

