“Day of the Dead” festival in Seattle (2009)

breads

“The ”Day of the Dead” (El Día de los Muertos or All Souls’ Day) is a holiday celebrated in Mexico and by Latin Americans  living in the United States and Canada. The holiday focuses on gatherings of family and friends to pray for and remember friends and family members who have died. The celebration occurs on November 1st, and 2nd in connection with the Catholic  holiday of  All Saints Day which occurs on November 1st and All Soul’s Daywhich occurs on November 2nd. Traditions include building private altars honoring the deceased, using sugar skulls, marigolds, and the favorite foods and beverages of the departed, and visiting graves with these as gifts.” (Wikipedia)

I am in love with this celebration.  I love the colors, the music, the dancing, the makeup, the food, the costumes, the decorations, the art–the ART !

As much as I whine about longing to live on a farm in the country, I feel blessed to live so close to Seattle.  I have learned more about different cultures by attending the free festivals, than I had ever known before.

dod2

Many more photos plus a wonderful Youtube video behind the cut…

mariachi

childdanc3

The singers, musicians, and dancers–amazing talent!

facepainting

I apologize for the quality of the photos.  I was taking these in crowds and poor lighting, but I really wanted to share the images to give an idea of how beautiful and entertaining this festival is.  It’s at Seattle Center House every year, and it’s free!

gourds

childart

These are the sugar skulls children decorate at the festival–so colorful!

art2

bread2

seattlecenterhouse

They drew quite a crowd!

dod7

One of the very moving altars displaying victims of domestic violence.

dod3

art1

feet

This is actually a photograph.  I’ll never complain about my sore feet again!

8 thoughts on ““Day of the Dead” festival in Seattle (2009)

  1. I really loved this..especially the tables that are set aside for specific remembrances. The domestic violence remembrance I am sure was very touching and I’m glad they do it like that. A way to make people pause while they remember their loved ones. I think sometimes we forget that not everybody just gets old and passes in old age or disease. I think I forget that at times myself.

    It looks like a fun time as well with all the food and tradition. I’m sure the experience was lovely as your delivery to it, to me, was spectacular. I love your blogs, but you already know that. I love that you put alot of work, talent, and time into them to share with us your experiences. As your experiences are always interesting.

    I read the apple one as well, and I loved that and it looks like a fun day as well. Fun people it looks like you have just met.

  2. I’m Lillian’s daughter, and I really enjoyed this post. I’ve been aware of this celebration generally for a long time but never really explored the specifics until this year. I think it’s fantastic there’s a public celebration like this. And I’m already planning to have my niece and nephew decorate sugar skulls next year.

    • Welcome Stitcher! I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed the post. I’m especially excited that you will be making those sugar skulls with your niece and nephew. I want to do a few myself 🙂
      When you do, please send photos 🙂
      Your mother is one of my favorite bloggers–she is such an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

