Love and Marriage and Cupcakes

I’ve  had a busy winter!

My son, Sean, and his fiancee Olivia,  married on December 17th.  Sean’s father and I couldn’t be happier!

It was a small ceremony downtown Seattle.  After the ceremony, the family gathered for a formal dinner at Pomodoro’s, and then we partied at Magnolia’s Mulleady’s where the newlyweds held their reception.

I volunteered to make the cupcake tower for the reception.  I had a few weeks notice and went crazy trying to figure out how to put this idea together.   The couple requested the “Day of the Dead”  pair be the cake topper–needless to say, it is was a unique idea, and I have to say, I really liked the idea of thumbing our noses at tradition.

I made close to 100 cupcakes.  I also piped 80 butter cream roses for the tops of the chocolate cupcakes.

I cheated and used a mix for the chocolate, but I added buttermilk and changed a few things around to make them my own.  The ivory butter cream is homemade.  I used an edible pixie dust to make them glitter under the lights.

I also baked lemon cupcakes–from scratch this time!– and a batch of Hummingbird cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.  The mini-cake topper is also a Hummingbird Cake.

I used putty to hold the giant pink martini glasses in place with the layers of depression glass and crystal in between.

Olivia and my mother made molded chocolates and placed them in little cellophane bags with ribbon and a photo of the bride and groom, to give out for wedding favors.  We hung them from a little Christmas tree.  So adorable.

The night flew by and soon the newlyweds flew off to California to enjoy a honeymoon in the sun.

If you would like to read about my cupcake baking adventures please click below–you can find the recipes here too…

Lemon Cream Cupcakes

Hummingbird Cake

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting

The Cupcake Tower

When Sean and Olivia told me they had decided to get married in December (keeping in mind, it was December when they told me!)  I actually thought a small wedding could be fairly simple.  I offered to bake the cupcakes and create a cupcake tower for them.  I mean, how hard can it be to bake a hundred cupcakes?  I bake all the time, hell, I can bake with one eye closed.  I was so excited, I was pre-baking “sample” cupcakes.   By the time the wedding rolled around we were all so sick of cupcakes we didn’t want to look at a cupcake.
Anyhoo, back to the story.  I was throwing out all kinds of ideas to Olivia–who is no Bride-Zilla–not by a long shot.  She was pretty laid back and told me not to worry,  just some cupcakes.

After looking through countless web site images of cupcakes, not to mention my twenty or so books on cupcakes, I decided to pull out my old Wilton tips and attempt a few butter cream roses.  Oh, yes!  I loved how the few I piped looked and that was that–roses it will be!  Simple!  Right?

Um, maybe a few are simple, but a hundred?  Not so much.

To make matters worse, my arthritis decided it was a good time to really kick in and make it nearly impossible to pipe.  To say I started to freak out at this point , would be an understatement.
“I’m going to ruin the wedding!”   I shouted as Mark  stood by trying to convince me that the roses look perfect to him.

“Are you blind?”  I was serious.  “We only have one child and I’m ruining his wedding day!”

I cried myself to sleep that night.  What?  Are you going to tell me you’ve never cried over a baking project?  Oh, no?  Was it for your only child’s wedding?  I thought not!

The next morning, I awakened to pain free fingers and started piping the roses–in pink and aqua.  The roses started out crisp and pointy and slowly digressed to rounded and not so crisp and pointy as time marched on–at a seemingly high speed.  I was ready to purchase pre-made roses by the time I had piped out the first 25.  Instead, I took breaks and finally finished the necessary roses with extras to spare.

I looked at store bought cupcake towers, but they didn’t hold many cupcakes.  I didn’t have time to order anything and I really didn’t want cardboard.  I ended up using Olivia’s grandmother’s bowl–a bowl she cherishes because she really loves and misses her grandma.  I also used a depression blue glass plate I have and a  crystal platter that belongs to my grandmother.  I stacked the over sized pink martini glasses in between for pillars.

I found an adorable mini-cake pan set to bake the wedding cake top.

For added décor, I added fresh cut flowers, Jordan almonds, and some strawberry molded candies I made to place around the table.

Yes, I also worried about transporting the cupcakes to the reception and I created a lot of drama around that issue as well.  I also worried about what dress I would wear, what shoes I should wear, what my husband should wear, if I made enough cupcakes,  if I made too many cupcakes, my aching back, my makeup, my nails, my son, Olivia, and the price of tea in China.

In the end, the wedding and reception were simply beautiful.  Our son has a wife and we have a lovely daughter-in-law, and I’m hooked on baking cupcakes  🙂


All of the lovely photos were taken by Luce Bella Photography.  Shari is a very talented artist and we are grateful for the beautiful moments she captured!

The 2nd, 3rd, and 4th photos were shot  by yours truly

Angelnina’s Cottage Photography

10 thoughts on “Love and Marriage and Cupcakes

  1. The roses all look like roses!! very beautiful.. and so meaningful all of it! did you make the cake topper too? I love the Dios de las muertas theme. (don’t know if I spelled that right).. 🙂

    • I didn’t make the topper, the kids bought it when they went on vacation to Mexico. I did make the cake they’re standing on 🙂 Thank you for your compliments on my roses–it was a labor of love.

  2. Absolutely beautiful..especially with the time frame you had to work with. The cupcakes look too lovely to eat, and I’m sure they were just as delicious. Do regret though not being in town during the practice tasting(:

  3. Best cupcake tower ever!!! Roses were beautiful, but nothing could top the hummingbird cupcakes… what a night to remember!!! Thank you again for all your hard work in making it a night for Olivia and Sean to remember.

    • Aw, thank you Debra! It was a lot of fun and the night went by too fast.
      I hope Sean and Olivia told you I’ve been anti-social due to health issues–I’m having surgery in a week and hopefully I’ll be back to my old self again at some point. THANK YOU for the Christmas coffee cake–pleasant surprise 🙂

  4. What a lovely couple! Congratulations to your son and new DIL. You did a beautiful job with the cupcakes you could see each and every one was a labor of love. Hope you’re feeling well.
    Marie

Leave a Reply

