Edmonds, Washington Farmer’s Market

edmondsfarmers

Goodies peeking out of the trunk of my car

I’m grateful to live in such a beautiful little town in Washington state.

Edmonds is my favorite town in western Washington.  Not just because I live here, but because it has an old-fashioned charm I can’t seem to find anyplace else.

Health freak that I am, I drove down to the waterside to take my morning walk along the beautiful Puget Sound. I didn’t get far before I started craving a doughnut. By not getting far, I mean, I parked my car and locked it.

I rarely eat doughnuts, but the Edmonds Bakery makes French Crullers every Saturday. My craving grew and grew until I finally surrendered and decided my hands were tied and I had no choice!

I practically pushed people out of my way to feast my eyes on my beloved crullers, only to discover they were not there! The young man behind the counter told me they will be finished in an hour.

An hour? By then I could waste away. Again, my hands were tied.

photo 1 (1)

An Old Fashioned glaze and a cup of coffee. The second best doughnut.

Looking out the bakery window I noticed a herd of people walking by. Then I remembered the farmer’s market is today.

The Saturday farmer’s market shuts down two streets. There are artists, farmers, and beautiful flowers. Conventional and organic fruits and veggies are weaved throughout the booths. Smoked salmon, homemade jams, fresh-baked breads, you name it, they’ve got it.

As you can see in the picture at the top of my post, I decided I would walk off my doughnut by shopping at the market. I picked up a bouquet of beautiful cut flowers for five dollars! A steal. I also bought half a dozen baby zucchini with their blossoms and four half pints fully loaded with giant blackberries. I hauled the bounty back to my car and walked the few blocks back to the market to pick up a beautiful loaf of sourdough bread.

I didn’t go shopping with a plan, as I find it rather fun to just pick out what appeals to my eye, haul it home and come up with a plan.

The zucchini blossoms will be stuffed with cheeses and herbs, then deep-fried until golden. I will serve them alongside the leftover angel hair pasta dish I made for dinner last night.

The blackberries will probably end up in a dessert I’ll make with store-bought frozen puff pastry. The sourdough bread simply heated, sliced and served with butter.

photo

Ain’t she perty?

As shown, a beautiful bouquet of flowers will adorn the dinner table. I shouldn’t buy flowers, as I’m allergic, but I couldn’t resist. In a few days they will go out on the patio table and I will be able to breathe freely again.

I’ll update with recipes and photos of what I turn this week’s goodies into.

photo 2

Thank you for reading my blog.  If you haven’t had a chance to watch this video, please do! Sean is an amazing talent. Click here for “Black and Blue For You”

WATCH THIS!!! 

19666945803_8eda17bbec_n

My son Sean (Mark Sean) Movie Director

5 thoughts on “Edmonds, Washington Farmer’s Market

  1. It’s so nice to see one of your beautiful posts. The pictures are gorgeous and I loved the little peeks of embroidery under the bread. Looking forward to the recipes.

Leave a Reply

