Our Favorite French Toast

I’m a boring breakfast person. I usually eat a poached egg on toast with a cup of black coffee. Ernest almost always makes breakfast for me before he leaves to work, where he has an office with the most amazing views of the Seattle and surrounding areas.

craneferris

On weekends, I usually feel like making breakfast. On Saturday or Sunday morning, I’m ready for a more sinful breakfast. The giant fluffy pancakes, patty sausages, crisp bacon, butter, syrup, hash browns, biscuits and gravy. You know, the breakfast so big you don’t feel hungry again until bedtime–kind of breakfast.

After a semi-disaster with my blackberry turnovers, I had quite a bit of the sweet cream cheese filling leftover. I decided to use it as part of my weekend morning breakfast, and it was a hit.

I made French toast the same way I usually do: French bread slices dipped in eggs with a dash of milk, that I beat together with a generous amount of cinnamon and sugar. Next I  fry egg soaked bread slices in small bit of oil.  Serve with butter, a light sprinkling of powdered sugar and hot Grade B maple syrup.

However, this time I omitted the cinnamon and sugar and only used the eggs.

After dipping the French bread slices into the beaten eggs, I pan-fried them in a light bit of oil, then I lay them on a baking rack, set over a baking sheet.  I served it with the  cream cheese filling leftover from the blackberry turnovers I posted here.  Wow!  I knew it would taste good, but I had no idea it was going to be the only way I ever want to eat French Toast again. Plus,I like the fact that there is now added protein from the cream cheese.  No butter or syrup needed. Seriously, you won’t miss it at all!

frenchtoast

French Toast with sweet cream cheese, stuffed zucchini blossom, and bacon

It tastes like a cinnamon roll with cream cheese frosting. Next time I’ll add toasted chopped pecans.

Add few fresh berries or berries with a pinch of sugar,  and create another pop of flavor.

Here is the recipe for the sweet cream cheese spread:

Sweet Cream Cheese Spread for French Toast

4 ounces cream cheese (at room temperature)

1/4 cup of sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp vanilla (optional)

Mix together until well blended.  I recommend a using a mixer.

That’s it! Easy peasy.

The Dude loves this on French toast, regular toast, crackers, a spoon. He might love it a little too much.

IMG_2308

2 thoughts on “Our Favorite French Toast

Leave a Reply

